Looking for some help on our lifestyle block near the picturesque town of Whitianga on the Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand.

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/02/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I have a 2 acre lifestyle block 10 minutes from the picturesque town of Whitianga on the Coromandel Peninsula. We own a seafood restaurant in town so we are busy busy busy and don't have much time to spend at home doing jobs that need to be done, it would be lovely to get some help this winter to get the place looking good for summer.
    We are English but we have lived in NZ for 8 years.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a friendly, hardworking couple who would love to have you stay and help us.
    We can't teach you much as we are just learning about being lifestyle block owners ourselves, infact you could probably teach us a thing or two, but we will have fun trying!

  • Help

    Help

    Jobs will include:
    Building a veggie garden and stocking it with veggies.
    Planting tree's (natives and fruit trees) and a shelter belt.
    Mowing and strimming and weeding and mulching, ( we only use organic practices in our garden, no chemicals allowed!!)
    Erecting fences
    We are in the process of renovating a 1950's house which we relocated to our section, but it's taking a long time so we would love some help with renovations, DIY and decorating, (previous experience with these things would be an advantage).
    Help (hugging!!) with the animals- we have pet pigs, sheep, a goat, a miniature pony, a jersey house cow, a highland cow, chickens and 2 dogs, (one of which is young and a little bit mental so you must be happy being licked and leapt on)-there is always lots to do!!!
    We may even require some house/pet sitting so that we can go away for a couple of days.
    My husband has a damaged shoulder at the moment so he isn't able to do any heavy work so we need help lifting and moving things and hammering stuff.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in our house with us and our friendly pooches.
    As i said, we are currently renovating so please don't expect the ritz BUT it is clean, we have a lovely log burner so the house is warm, we offer you a comfortable bed, adequate kitchen facilities and a newly renovated bathroom with spa bath,(it's the only room we have finished!!) and amazing views from every window!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are so many amazing beaches and places to visit here on the Coromandel all within a short drive of our property.
    We are looking for fit, hardworking helpers who have common sense and preferably some previous experience with gardening and building work. In return we offer good food, a friendly atmosphere and a beautiful spot to spend a few days/weeks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 425971988956