Looking for a woman to help on a family ranch in western Nebraska, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/07/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We own a farm and ranch in western Nebraska. We farm hay crops, as well as corn, and run about 300 head of beef cattle on 6000 acres of beautiful sandhills prairie. We are a Christian family, who homeschool 4 of our 6 children, ranging in age from 2 to 13 years. We love animals and have many pets, including dogs, cats, chickens, donkeys, and a parakeet. We also have some motorheads in the family and have a number of motorcycles, ATVs, 4x4s, snowmobiles, snow bikes, jetskis, and even a couple of airplanes! We love having guests. We have a large house and yard. We live 16 miles from the nearest town, but near enough to a major highway that getting there is easy.
    We are looking for a female Workawayer who will expose our family to new cultures and customs and tell us stories about their home and experiences. We want to share our home with a volunteer who demonstrates the Christian values we hold dear, including: kindness, respect, modesty, purity, charity, service, and perseverance. We look forward to hearing from that special person.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I believe people who stay with us will gain much experience with children and hopefully be blessed by our family atmosphere. We are a family that likes to stay busy and have fun, so there are definitely memories to be made here. This land is God's country and I believe it is a good place to get to know Him better. We will make an effort to show our guests the local sights during their stay.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a variety of volunteer opportunities here, depending mainly on the time of year. We would gladly accept help at any time at the house with the kids, school, and housekeeping/cooking. We can also use help in the yard with weeding and planting in the spring. Farm and ranch work may be available during spring and summer, but would be secondary to the help in the home.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Need english, but would love spanish or french too

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a large, simple guest bedroom with a king size bed, desk, bookcase, and adjacent bathroom. We do not have a television subscription, though we do have internet access. We have a computer in our classroom that you could use when not needed for school. We have gluten free and dairy free individuals in our family, as well as some "normal" people, so we can accomodate folks with or without special dietary needs. We love music in our home and have two pianos which guests are welcome to play and help kids with! We cannot accommodate unmarried or nontraditional couples. Thank you for understanding.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are within 0.5 to 4 hours' drive from many significant historical and natural monuments, like the Wildcat Hills, numerous buttes and bluffs famous as landmarks on the Oregon and Mormon trails, the Pine Ridge and Fort Robinson, the Black Hills of South Dakota, the Rocky Mountains, the Platte River and numerous reservoirs with recreation areas. In addition to the ranch, we have a cabin in the Snowy Range 4 hours to the west, which is an amazing place to visit and hike or ride the backcountry trails, mountains, and lakes. Both home and the cabin provide lots of opportunities to observe a variety of North American wildlife and the fishing is pretty good in nearby lakes.
    We are fairly early risers and eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner together as a family almost every day. Our school age children have daily chores and everyone rotates helping in the kitchen on a assigned schedule. We do a lot of running to activities a couple of days a week and Mom and Dad participate in 3-4 evening meetings during the month. We try to do daily afternoon visits to the ranch (homestead site with grandparents, barn, critters, toys) for fresh air and exercise.
    Did I mention that this part of the world is crawling with real live cowboys and cowgirls? Come in May and June and you can help at many traditional cattle brandings around our neighborhood.
    A final note: as much as we would love to, we cannot accept international Workawayers because they cannot legally work in exchange for food and lodging in the US. This requires a special Visa which we cannot sponsor. We would be interested in hosting Internationals if they are already travelling in the States and would like to see this part of the country on their trip. We welcome American citizens any time. Thanks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 425333141592

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more