New friends and fun in Frome, UK, need help with doing up my house on a budget!.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Frome is a pretty Somerset town near Bath with lots to see and do nearby. My home is a typical 3 bed semi, and in need of some work to make it a more attractive home.
    I am a single Mum with a 22 year old, who comes home from uni for weekends and holidays. I am a friendly and welcoming person with lots of friends and an easy going attitude.
    My offer will suit someone who will enjoy being in my home and wants to use it a a flexible base to pursue their goals and exchange skills with me for our mutual benefit. I have a dog and 3 guinea pigs. I drive and would like to show a guest the local area, in return for their help.
    I have free time in the day to work on the house and garden and would welcome someone who is able to make a house somewhere to be proud of on a very limited budget. In my home and among my friends we have champagne tastes and lemonade incomes, but we know how to help each other and have lots of fun, would you like to come and meet us?
    I can offer you the use of my home with your own bedroom. I enjoy the company of all ages and types of people, I am a motherly person and happy to take care of a young and willing young person wanting help to discover their talents and build confidence. I am a great taxi driver to non drivers if paid for petrol with cash or work in kind.
    I speak English and I have attended a course to teach English as a foreign language. I consider my self willing, not qualified to teach my language, but would make it fun to learn. I would like to learn to speak more French, as I speak only a few words at the moment. For non English speakers It might be difficult but its nice to try and see if we can learn enough to have fun.
    We can negotiate the details such as food to suit us both. Good luck with your search, and thank you for taking the time to read my details. I look forward to hearing from you if you are interested in staying with me for a while. A week or a few days would be a good starting point, a month or longer if we both enjoy the experience. I would prefer female guests, until I have been on the site a little longer.Thank you, Lynne

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I will help with learning English and take them to enjoy our local pubs and places of interest. I have a wide variety of friends and would like to offer help to make more contacts if they wish to travel to other places and find new hosts. I cook and know a lot about our local food. Good food would be an important part of their stay. The history geography of the local area can be easily enjoyed. We have a lot of music and artistic activities in the town and wider area. A student wishing to sample the way of life in this area would learn a lot from my young visitors many of whom are at college and university in the area. I can offer a lot of help and encouragement to find the educational and employment opportunities young people need. I hope you would learn the things you are most interested in. I would give top priority to helping my guest get the most from their stay, and need to know what their aims are to ensure I can give the support needed. An older person would find Frome a good base to explore the west country with good transport links to London. I am a sociable person who can include my guest in the local activities they enjoy. I can assist in finding ways to do the the things and get to the places he or she will enjoy.

  • Help

    Help

    The work I need help with is to make repairs and improvements to my home and garden. Decorating, help to clean and arrange my home, inspiration for free or cheap ways to give it style. A handy man or woman. Help with sorting my clothes and paperwork. Turning areas from a muddle into working spaces is what I need help with. The garage needs to be cleared and given a purpose. My paperwork needs to be sorted out. An assistant to help and motivate me to tackle one small project at a time. A typical task might be to paint a ceiling together, or empty a room and take the surplus Items to a charity shop or the local dump. An hour or two cleaning together perhaps. If you like gardening to establish some small borders or paint the fences.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a few words of French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A single room and use of my home and garden. We are an ordinary English family, not rich but full of fun and kind to anyone who visits us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport and entertainment are good in the area. I am willing to be a taxi for non drivers, or difficult places to go by public transport, but usually expect my petrol costs to be met unless its part of a special treat or family outing. Cheap overnight stays elsewhere in youth hostels or camping with me might be fun for someone wanting to see further away. Plenty of time off can be arranged and the help done in hours or days to suit us both. I can make sure your spare time is fun. I do not smoke or tolerate any drugs, but love a good drink and would enjoy sharing wine, port or spirits and consider this a vital part of our culture. Non drinkers would be in a safe space if that is their preference. My home would be yours too, and my expectations only that you be a kind and polite guest, and we each keep to our side of the deal and have fun in doing so. I hope to make friendships with my guests, and that my welcome is such that you want to return.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    AVerage 3 or 4 per day depending on task.Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 421376852483