Friendly, creative, home educating (Steiener Waldorf style), family in rural Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 127 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My partner and I live in rural Scotland with our two home educated children ( 8 and 11). We live in Buddhist community living just a mile from the first Tibetan Buddhist center in the West - Samye Ling, 14 miles from the nearest town. The Buddhist center has a Temple, a Stupa and retreat center, there are opportunities for meditation and various courses and also a small shop and cafe. It's a great place if you love the outdoors ~ wild walks, nature and peaceful surroundings. Buses run a few times a day to the nearest towns ~ Lockerbie and Lagholm with larger shops. We eat mostly vegetarian, organic, wholesome food (though meat eaters are welcome, and we can sometimes cook meat if required). You'll have your own space to retreat to (our sitting room with double sofa bed and a place for clothes ~ this will be a private space just for you). We have wifi connection, shared bathroom with a bath (no shower), we don't have a television. We venture into town at least twice a week, so there's a lift if you wish to come along.

    I work as a jeweller and currently interested in reading, self delvelopment, business/entrepreneurial, art, health, hula hoop, reading and running and much more! My partner is a plumber who loves music, travel and just got himself a bike, so soon to be cyclist! Our two daughters are keen riders, readers and nature explorers ~ our eldest daughter has been playing the harp for a few years.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live simply, and quietly in the countryside - this is a great place to get away from the city and be a little closer to nature. We have three chickens, a three legged cat and a garden with organic veg - there is internet, but no television. The Tibetan Buddhist center, Samye Ling offers opportunities for daily meditation, and relaxing walks around in the hills and by the river.

  • Help

    Help

    We're mainly looking for people to help in and around the home, whatever needs to be done at the time it could be - gardening, tidying, painting, decorating, and some cleaning, and perhaps some help with home educating if you feel comfortable doing so.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Polish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have your own room (our sitting room, which you will have to yourself), wifi whenever you wish and a shared bathroom. We usually eat together for most meals - we have three meals a day - food is mostly organic and vegetarian (though some meat can be prepared if needed), a gluten free diet is also catered for - we're pretty flexible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's plenty to do for those who like the wilderness - walks, fires by the river, wild swimming, relaxation and meditation. We are a fairly social family, but also like and will respect your quiet time. As we are a busy we would like you to do 4 - 5 hours help each day, 9-2pm (or as negotiated) with weekends to spend as you wish. Please get in touch if you'd like to know anything else ~ we look forward to welcoming you into our home!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 418586833165