Help us take care of our two children to give us time to build a better world with our eco-project in Vayres, France

Country

France

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/12/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    “Be the change you want to see in the world” (almost Mahatma Gandhi)

    It is important for us to do our part and show that it is possible to get out of the hellish cycle of overconsumption, take care of nature, take care of men and share equitably! For this, we have just acquired a small farm located in the beautiful Natural Park of Périgord-Limousin, in France.

    Presentation of the farm:
    This place will therefore highlight a sober life, an example of autonomy accessible and open to the outside! If we can, then it's possible! In parallel with the energy autonomy of the farm that we will install over the years, we will work mainly to get closer to the food self-sufficiency of the place.
    We are therefore starting a big vegetable garden on a small surface (about 2,500 m²) and will produce many varieties of common vegetables, old and rustic. All our plants will come from reproducible seeds. All cultures will be realized in a completely natural way. In this way, we will be able to feed the family, the visitors and some of the surrounding households through baskets and markets.
    We are also developing a edible forest of about 5,000 m² composed of local fruit trees, berries, but also of perennial edible or medicinal plants more unknown. This forest garden will provide an abundance of fruit and vegetable food while creating a complex ecosystem through the diversity of plant varieties.

    Clement's bees will be delighted and will provide us with honey in addition to pollinating the garden. Finally, we also have animals (pigs, goats, turkeys, rabbits, ducks, chickens) and therefore eggs, we will make herbal teas, herbs, dried fruits and vegetables, balms and many other things!

    All this makes sense only if we can share it. And that's good because we LOVE to share, exchange, transmit! That's why we start organizing events as diverse as they are to bring people home.
    - workshops, trainings, conferences and stays
    - visits and educational itineraries
    - free library

    Next steps :
    - work the soil
    - sowing vegetables
    - refresh the walls of the farmhouse with Swedish / ecological paint
    - set up tipis or build huts for the reception
    - build summer sanitary "outdoor" (dry toilets, solar showers, ...)
    - build a summer kitchen
    - elaborate the course elves
    - build a kiosk to meditate
    - etc.

    See you soon!

    Natacha & Clement

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Of course, we will take advantage of this meeting to share our values, our philosophy, our way of life, our projects, our knowledge on all aspects of this new life. Travelers will obviously be able to take part in other activities that will please them. With joy!

  • Help

    Help

    We have 2 children and we need help to take care of them and a bit of the house while we work on building the place. We are looking for people who love children, who are interested in positive education, active listening and non-violent communication and who know their development.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    During the summer, we prefer people to camp/ tent to preserve private family time. Nevertheless, for cold seasons, we are building a room a little apart with private bathrooms. It should be available quickly.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 415182142869