Join our Family and Adventure in Victoria, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family of five lives in Victoria, BC, Canada. We love to hike, bike, sail, camp, and rock climb. We are an architect, a bookkeeper, a reader (10), a soccer player (7), and a social butterfly (5). We live within walking distance to our kids' school, and biking distance to both our places of work.

    We enjoy reading, playing board games together, building forts, listening to music, and working in our backyard.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Victoria is in a stunning location. Surrounded by water, near magestic mountains, with world class mountain biking, skiing, surfing, hiking, camping, etc all in your backyard. Vancouver is only a ferry away, although a day trip is a pretty full one.

    Vancouver Island is a nature playground, and you can be a part of it!

  • Help

    Help

    While we love to adventure and explore, life with kids can easily be bogged down in cleaning lunch boxes, finding uniform shirts, and taking out the recycling. Living with children can also be so beautiful, humbling, entertaining, and engaging, and we'd like to have someone to share both aspects with!

    We are looking for (preferably) a female to be an extra pair of hands as we go about our daily routine. Helping to get the kids ready for school, pop by the grocery store, make dinner twice a week, babysit once a week, take the kids to the park or on a hike, help read books at bedtime, garden a bit in the backyard, sweep and help with the dishes; doesn't have to be all of those things or even those specific items! We're flexible and looking for someone with a helpful heart and a good attitude toward kids. We'd like to discuss what would work best for both of us! Must enjoy being with kids :) We wold expect 25 hours per week.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a room off the living room that would be yours. There is only 1 of everything else, (bathroom, kitchen, living room, dining room) so it is all shared there. Your room has 2 locked doors- one to the living room and one to the outdoors, so you can come and go as you please.

    We've done our best to soundproof that room, but it's an old house and our kids can be loud and usually wake up around 7am. Earplugs will be a good idea! If you're a light sleeper or are hoping to sleep in (without ear plugs), this probably isn't the best fit for you.

    The room is small but has a big window with lovely morning light. It overlooks our front yard.

    We cook all our meals at home. Breakfast is typically oatmeal or eggs, lunch is leftovers, and dinner is typically simple- soups, pasta, curries, sometimes Friday night pizza night, rice and beans, etc. You'd be welcome to join for as much or as little as you'd like. There is a grocery store within a 5 min walk. We are very centrally located for both biking and busing. We even have a space bike you can use!

    Also we have a short haired tabby cat. She's an indoor / outdoor cat, small, and is both playful and cuddly. We've been told by several people who are allergic that she hasn't activated their allergies.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are beaches, parks, forests, Victorian gardens, natural history museums, beautiful ocean sunsets, and so much more.

    Victoria has a great food and craft beer culture. We'd be happy to help you figure out how to spend your free time.

    We like to have fun and work hard together. A good fit for us would be a workaway who can laugh, knows to clean up after themselves, enjoys conversation and the tasks of keeping a (simple, minimalist) home. Our house is pretty quiet after 9pm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 414555753565