Small old house and yard looking for helping hands, British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a small home in the middle of Powell River, and work from home as a researcher and strategic planner. In my spare time I’m slowly fixing up my house and yard - I moved in about a year ago. Otherwise, I enjoy hiking, watching the sunset every night, and visiting friends.

    For people who come and help, I’ll be working with you, and in our off time we can hike, or you can explore the town, the lakes, the trails.

    My home is in a walkable area of town, but is quiet, and has a bit of an ocean and sunset view.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    People who say here will get to know Canada outside of the cities, get a sense of rural Canada, experience fantastic nature, learn about (or teach!) gardening and home renovation, and practice English if it’s not your first language.

  • Help

    Help

    I can be flexible with the type of help depending on your skills.

    It would be great if you have any skills in carpentry, plumbing, gardening, general help appreciated. A lot of the time I just need a second pair of hands to hold something while I hammer. Also am happy to practice/learn languages, especially Spanish or French.

    Projects might include finishing a shed, removing old siding, reinsulating my attic, framing a closet in my bedroom, transplanting shrubs, raking grass, etc. I do a lot of work on my own, but it goes much faster with help!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private sleeping area. It’s in my unfinished basement, with sheets up for “walls”, but you have the basement to yourself. Double bed, carpet, side table. No door (other than the sheets) but the rest of the basement is storage so quiet and private.

    I’ll supply supplies for self-serve breakfast (eg toast, cereal, fruit). Simple lunches (eg soup or sandwiches). Sometime I’ll make dinner (eg thai curry, tacos), sometime leftovers. You are welcome to my kitchen and ingredients if you prefer to prepare your own. I eat/make mostly vegan, but you are welcome to add/cook meat/dairy/eggs if you like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots of hiking, swimming, relaxing in your time off. There is public transit, and the town is also small to be able to walk many places. Depending on my schedule I can take you hiking or to a lake.

    Because I work from home and like my privacy, I prefer shorter stays (eg 1 week is probably maximum).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average 4-5 hours, 5 days/week

Host ref number: 412156742672