Help out a family in the gorgeous Midi Pyrenees, France

Country

France

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/01/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Robin& Lynne ( 70) and grandson Tommie (8) moved to this lovely area 5 years ago. We have 2 gorgeous gites (fully booked for the summer) change over day is Saturday, when it is all hands on deck to welcome international families. We have 3 1/2 acres of land to keep looking good, weed free and tidy plus daily upkeep to the piscine , poolhouse/furniture and the gites. Can you help with this? Tommie is a great little character, full of beans, very sociable and up for any game you will play ! He will be at school locally til the beginning of July then holidays til the beginning of September. You will have your own fully equipped house to live in, which has all mod cons, right next door to us , in a quiet country lane, which is still only a 20 min walk to 2 delightful buzzing medieval towns. You can use our bikes and explore further afield. Local buses are cheap and go to Carcassonne and Toulouse.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn some French. benefit from the peace of the countryside and all the wildlife Find out about the Canal de Midi - which is fed from the largest made made lake in Europe, just up the road. This is Cathar country, so abounds in castles and legends about them.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Please see above! Child care, gardening, painting, cleaning, maybe shopping , just generally helping out in this gorgeous part of France!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Lovely old farmhouse, all mod cons, 2 double bedrooms, 1 with ensuite shower room plus a large bathroom with separate shower. Plenty of sunshine , wild life, swimming pool. 4 kms to interesting towns in both directions. 1 hr to Toulouse/Carcassonne and loads of history sites. We are actually on the Via Tolosana, the pilgrim route from Arles to Santiago de Compostella.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Great countryside - black mountains, cathar castles, buzzing little medieval towns ( with cinema & open air pool) Beautiful Castres & Albi just up the road full of museums, rivers, shops etc , not forgetting Carcassonne and Toulouse which are 1 hr away plus the Med , at Narbonne, if you want sea air. You can have your own bike to get around and there is a very good bus service nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day would be fab!









Host ref number: 411133924538