Join our creative and sociable household and spend time helping in my garden in peaceful village nr Frome, SW England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 111 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Helen and I have a 9 year old daughter, Ria. we are mainly vegetarian and I love healthy life style and cooking . I live in a beautiful rural location, and close drive to local towns. It is very peaceful here with lots of lovely views, and walks in nature and a peaceful garden. My background is musical, i am a musician and my daughter is very artistically biased goes to a creative steiner school. We are easy going and like the simple life of good food, fun, rest and friends.
    I require summer time support with running my home and garden work and some support with my child doing arts, crafts and reading and play. ( She has some medical needs which i am NOT expecting a workawayer to be responsible for in any way . I organise these including medicines and some medical requirements before her bed) I am very pro active and organised person.
    We recently moved to this 1940's style home ( after my last house flooded!) and i am wanting help also to organise Ria's play/art/ activity room .
    I have a lovely cleaner who helps every week so I am NOT expecting workawayer to do lots and lots of cleaning!
    Ria and I look for someone who wants to join in with family life, share ,cook and clear away meals and get to know us. Ria is bright, active imaginative and very social and curious. i am quieter and also a good listener. I can send photos of us2 if you would like.
    We live with a gorgeous sleek black cat Casper and i'd also love help with feeding him

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy meeting new people and friends and especially sharing healthy fresh prepared mainly vegetarian food with others. We are both creative and sociable . Opportunity to improve english language skills, My child goes to the steiner academy in Frome where there is a strong community of people and many social events in the year providing opportunities to make new contacts, join in the fun.

  • Help

    Help

    Help cutting lawns
    tidying garden and maintenance ( outdoor work)
    Joining in with family meals cooking sharing and clearing away
    feeding cat
    Help organising art/ play room for Ria
    Time doing craft and play and reading with 9 year old daughter Ria

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we live in a 1940's style house with a spare bedroom for volunteer with views of countryside It is a warm and quiet house with beautiful views and idyllic english garden front and back.There is good heating and fireplace downstairs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small village situated between 2 towns. I use a car which could be used by the volunteer there is also a local bus service providing transport to local towns. If you liked walking there are walk ways all around here as I'm situated on the Longleat estate. There are lots of woodlands and local walks in the village if you like walking in nature.The Longleat house and gardens, Centre parks and health spa are minutes down the road. Frome and Warminster are both 10 minutes away. Frome has a lot going on , lots of arts and crafts, market days wednesday and saturday, The frome independent market once a month, some nice cafes, shops, cinema and 2 theatres and 2 swimming pools. Music events at the Cheese and Grain all year round. Bath is half an hour on the train from Frome which is a beautiful city to have close by with Spas and lots going on culturally. Bristol is about an hour away on the train. Frome is also near Bruton which has art galleries and amazing place to eat such as At the Chapel, and lots of fresh produce shops. Other local places are Wells with its famous cathedral and Glastonbury with nice cafes and walks.
    Or even having quiet time for you in my home there is space for you to do your own thing also.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 399443612931