Enjoy the countryside and plenty of nature, while helping out on farm and campsite in the sunny south of Slovakia

Country

Slovakia (Slovak Republic)

Favourited 286 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    81  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    382

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a small organic homestead with camping and glamping accommodations for our summer guests. It's located in the sunny south of Slovakia owned by Dutch /Slovak couple. It's a beautiful and peaceful place on the top of a hill in the middle of forest, far from the hustle and the bustle of a city.
    What we are trying to do is to give people the opportunity to reconnect with nature, without losing the comfort, they are used to. Giving them a chance to have a quiet peaceful holiday with time for themselves, to think, or to connect with other like minded people and to live for a while in and with the nature. A chance for people to live a honest rural self - sufficient life at least for a while.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    All year long you will get to experience the self-sustainable remote life - all it's pros and cons, loads of nature, meet other travelers and workawayers (this depending on when you'll be coming) and you will experience wonderful personalities of our farm animals.
    Depending on the tasks, you will get more practical skills, common sense and learn about ecological gardening, animal care, building and rebuilding, upcycling, and many other things.
    You might discover talents you never knew, you had! :)

    The weekends are all yours, so you can go exploring our beautiful surroundings, or join us on some local events, if there are any at the time you'll be visiting, or sometimes we can bring you to the bus stop and you can see even more places and do more things.

    A whole lot of socializing happens mainly in summer, when we have many camping guests. The atmosphere on the camipng is very informal and friendly. Our guests are mainly couples who look for peaceful and quiet holiday and contact with like minded people. For the rest of the year it's just us. So then this is the place to come in contact with your inner self. To sort things out. As there are not many guests outside the summer, you'll need to be able to deal with, or wanting to learn to be alone. Of course, we are always around, however everybody needs some me time. So we do, too.

    In autumn you can join Betty while mushroom picking and a thing or two about mushrooms.

  • Help

    Help

    Right now we mainly need garden and animal help, help with spring cleaning, painting and chopping wood.

    Independent craftsmen help like CARPENTERS, MASONERS, GARDENERS ARE ALWAYS VERY WELCOME here! If you'd prefer your own project rather than team work, we have plenty of those as well.

    If you have a different field of expertise, that's perfectly fine and you are most welcome, too.
    However to create a mutual benefit situation, we would like to stress out, that we do expect someone

    - who sees the task and does it without being asked to (Hint: asking what you should do in a kitchen, that looks like it just have been bombed is an absolute fail)
    - independent
    - self motivated
    - reasonable level of handiness
    Essentially someone, who's able to get something productive done.

    As some people have trouble to sort out, what to tell about themselves, please consider these:

    You will be staying in our home, so we are interested in who you are, what made you chose us, why you chose to do workaway, or what your expectations or fears are.

    Please don't forget to also mention set of skills, you already have when contacting us. It helps us to give you faster definite answer about your stay. :)

    You can either choose to be Marc's right hand and build, repair, mow, sow or prepare the land for usage, or you can help Betty with garden, animals and maintaining cleanliness.

    As we are trying to create something new, and grow at the same time, there are plenty of different types of jobs you can expect depending on priority, like:
    Building sophisticated, or primitive buildings, remodeling, re-purposing, carpentry, cleaning, maintenance, and repairing, sustainable organic (permaculture) gardening, harvesting, food preservation, caring for farm animals, weeding, digging, reclaiming and preparing land for agricultural, or other use, lawn mowing, cleaning and so on.
    As you see, there is a lot of work in need of doing, however you need to be prepared to do multiple of these tasks and mostly help out in anything, that just pops up and needs to be done. Tasks are often physical. Therefore if you have health issues, are recovering from an injury or have a bad back, that is most certainly something, that should be mentioned BEFORE your arrival.

    We are looking for volunteers staying at least for a week.

    There is also possibility for a long term stay, if both parties like what they are getting. Mail us to learn more. :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, Slovak, some German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For your help we provide you with ACCOMMODATION, what goes with it (shower, free wifi access with your own device), 3 MEALS A DAY. One hot meal will be made for you (unless we agree differently) and occasionally some extras. You'll provide for your own snacks if you like snacking and for your own beverages. There is NO shop nearby. So you'll have to bring your snacks with you.
    A fair warning - we do eat usually a bit later, than most people are used to, but you don't have to eat at the same time with us. It's all about mutual agreement so please try to communicate your preferences up front.

    You will have your own room (or sometimes if you are fine with it, room shared with another workawayer) on 1st floor of the house with shared (but new, beautiful and clean) bathroom, or (if preferred and depending on availability) a canvas tent. There is no TV, however there is unlimited WiFi access. We have a no shoe policy upstairs, so you might want to bring some home shoes with you.

    As a friendly reminder we will quote from common workaway rules, as some workawayers expect this to be done for them:

    "Apart from the help: You are expected to share in any household tasks where you are living, and to generally clear up after yourself!"

    It is thus expected of you to leave areas you just used (table, shower, toilet, etc.) clean, remove your used items and clean them and also leave your room clean at your departure (yes, under the bed, too).

    To get to us, You'll get to one of the nearest villages and we will be getting you from there by a car, as it's quite a distance from the bus stop for hiking with luggage. We'll give you the details you might need for planning your trip in private message to make getting here easier for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a great spot for bird watchers and animal stalker, as there is an enormous diversity of the wildlife around the camping.
    If you need some time to clear your head, to think, or just love long walks through the nature, there are 3 marked hiking routes going through the camping and even more lovely places, that are not marked. You can walk here for hours without meeting a soul. If you enjoy the wildlife, there are many wild animals visiting the campsite nearly every day.
    There is no public transport around the camping and the nearest village is 8 km away.
    You shouldn't mind thus, that shopping every day isn't really an option. :)
    If you like to be independent, you might need your own car, or a bike.
    There is thermal and mineral water aqua-park with spa 30 km from the camping, and many castles and ruins, also some Slovak folklore events really worth seeing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours, 5 days a week

Setting up the safari lodge tent.
View from the terrace.
They come every day, to have some plums from many plum trees, that we have.
Even in the winter it's quite a beautiful spot.
Our very own Eiffel tower :D
Young lady from next door is providing us with fresh milk.
Our camping is located on a meadow surrounded by forest.
You can come with your own camper or caravan, if you prefer to.
Safari Lodge Tent one more time.
Lodge tent - One of our accommodations.
Shower
Camping bathroom
view from the archtent
Arch tent interior - One of our accommodations (you might be staying here, if you prefer to and it is available).
Arch tent in the evening - One of our accommodations (you might be staying here, if you prefer to and it is available).
One of our accommodations (you might be staying here)
One of our accommodations (you might be staying here)




















































Host ref number: 397163226416