Live and work with an artist and a carpenter in the heart of Gascony, France



Favourited 190 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are Sabine (44) and Christophe (44) and we have two children, a girl and a boy - Thaïs, who is 9, and Elyam, who is 7.

    Sabine is an artist, working with different types of decoration, applying powdered metal and lime to different surfaces, and also as interior design, along with rendering walls and surfaces with limestone to create original textures and patterns.
    Sabine has a long work history in art restoration, working in many churches across France and in Europe, working to renovate stonework and artwork at historic sites.

    Sabine met Christophe while they were both working on a restoration project in a church in Agen. Christophe is a skilled carpenter and has worked in his field for many years, becoming an expert at making all types of furniture, flooring, staircases, and anything made out of wood!

    5 years ago we bought a mansion house in the countryside near Eauze, with the plan of restoring it to it's former 19th Century glory. It is a lifelong project, and there is much restoration work to do, which will take many years, but we are in love with our house and our land and the countryside, so we continue steadily and with care.

    We welcome both men and women to join us at our house, and we enjoy having couples staying with us.

    Nous sommes Sabine (44 ) et Christophe ( 44 ) et nous avons deux enfants, une fille et un garçon - Thaïs , qui a 9 ans , et Elyam , qui a 7 ans

    Sabine est une artiste , qui utilise différentes techniques de décoration et de création, travail de la chaux, poudre de métal, décoration de meubles...
    Sabine a travaillé de longues années dans la restauration du patrimoine dans de nombreuses églises à travers la France., elle rénovait des peintures murales, et des tableaux , des œuvres anciennes

    Sabine a rencontré Christophe alors qu'ils travaillaient tous deux sur un projet de restauration dans une église à Agen . Christophe est un menuisier qualifié et a travaillé dans son domaine depuis de nombreuses années , expert dans tous les types de meubles , parquets, escaliers , et tout ce qui est en bois !

    Il y a 5 ans, nous avons acheté une grande maison à la campagne proche de Eauze, avec le projet de la restaurer comme à son époque glorieuse au début du 19ème siècle. C'est un projet de vie, et il ya beaucoup de travail à faire dans la restauration, ce qui prendra de nombreuses années, mais nous sommes amoureux de notre maison et de ce lieu à la campagne.

    Nous pouvons accueillir des hommes et des femmes , et nous apprécions la compagnie d'un couple ( + de 25 ans) -

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to welcome workawayers because we like the cultural exchange, meeting people from all over the world , it's an exchange of work and we like to spend some time to get to know each other , we would be happy to show you around and introduce you our friends .

    Nous sommes heureux d'accueillir des workawayers parce que nous aimons les échanges culturels, rencontrer des gens du monde entier, c'est un échange de travail et nous aimons aussi passer du temps ensemble pour se connaître , nous serions contents de vous faire visiter le coin et vous présenter nos amis.

  • Help


    There are many things to be done at our house, and depending on what skills you have we will always find something you can help with. There is gardening, work in the vegetable garden, painting, decorating, woodwork, restoration work, and there is some light cleaning of the house, just tidying and sweeping/mopping occasionally. Sometimes there is help needed with the horses, and we have chickens, so you could also help with caring for them too.

    We offer that people come and stay with us for two weeks so that we can host other workawayers during spring summer and begiing autums, because we prefer not to host in winter as the work is less and the weather to cold.

    Il y a beaucoup de choses à faire dans notre maison , et selon vos compétences , nous trouverons toujours des activités telles que le jardinage , le jardin potager , la peinture , la décoration , la menuiserie, les travaux de restauration , de meme entretien de la maison , le ménage etc.. . Parfois, prendre soin des chevaux , des poules ;

    Nous proposons un séjour de deux semaines car nous voulons permettre à d'autres workawayer de séjourner chez nous au printemps été et début automne, nous préférons ne pas recevoir de gens en hiver car il y a moins de travail et le temps est trop froid.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    a double room in the house or a private tent in the garden

    une chambre double ou une tente dans le jardin

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off we can lend you some bike , you can take long walk through the beautiful country . The Gers area offer a lot of festivals and culture that we will try to show you.

    The nearest airport is Toulouse or Bordeaux.

    And trains are available from here to Auch or Agen, where we are happy to come and pick you up by car from these two towns.

    Durant vos temps libre nous pouvons vous prêter des vélos , vous pouvez randonner dans la nature. Le Gers offre de nombreux festivals et activités culturelles.

    L' aéroport le plus proche est Toulouse ou Bordeaux.

    Et les trains sont disponibles d'ici à Auch ou Agen , où nous sommes heureux de venir vous chercher en voiture à partir de ces deux villes .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Our Daughter Thaïs. (She hates photos!)
Sabine with one of her works of art
Sabine and Plume! One of our little rabbits
Jess (one of our workawayers) and Sabine preparing her art for a day on the market.
A day out in Fources, one of the beautiful local villages. From the left: Sabine, Sam(workawayer), Elyam and Christophe
Peekaboo Daddy!
Christophe and our son, Elyam
Christophe and Fabien building the barn
Christophe and Sam, one of our workawayers, building the barn
Christophe working hard!
Our horses: Primero and Gamin
One of our holiday Gites

Host ref number: 393735277386