Fixer-upper in Oahu, Hawaii, needs TLC

Country

United States

Favourited 513 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    454

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Aloha! My name is Will. I am a single male living on the Hawaiian island of Oahu, in a house a few minutes drive from Waikiki beach and a bus ride from many beautiful beaches and natural "power" spots. I settled here in 2014 after living in working in Tokyo for over 20 years, and still work on preserving my Japanese abilities.

    I spent most of my career in the IT industry, although I am a certified raw vegan chef, and have worked in many well-known vegan restaurants around the world. I also have a certificate in Plant-based nutrition from T. Colin Campbell Center/eCornell (see photo with founder, T. Colin Campbell, during his visit to Oahu). I became a licensed massage therapist in 2016 and am continually learning new healing techniques.

    My hobbies are vegan activism, writing, meditation, yoga/marathon training, watching movies (comedy/foreign), listening to jazz, photography, and practicing Japanese language. I am very green/eco-friendly, and a minimalist. There is very little furniture in my house, purposely--this means no TV and no microwave oven, either!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Together we can practice vegan cooking and lifestyle, yoga, and meditation. I am fluent in Japanese and would like to learn others. In exchange, I can help your English practice. I can also teach you about Hawaiian healing practices such as Lomi (massage) and medicinal herbs. We can climb Diamond Head and visit other nearby natural attractions such as snorkeling, whale watching and animal sanctuaries. There are many regular vegan activities that I participate in and you are very welcome to join.

  • Help

    Help

    If you are handy with flooring, carpentry, cabinetry, painting, or landscaping and would like to stay in Oahu, I would like to meet you! I have a cute little house that always needs attention.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a guest bedroom and bathroom. The room has louver windows and ceiling fan (no air-conditioning, but as long as the trade winds are blowing, there is no need). If room is occupied, there is a sofa or roll-up mattress. There is a washing machine and a clothesline you may use to dry your clothes.

    If you help 25 hours in a week, I will supply 100% plant-based staples and potentially prepare some meals together. If you choose to work fewer hours and buy your own food, you may use the kitchen as long as you keep it Vegan (i.e. no meat, chicken, fish, dairy, or other animal products allowed).

    Sleeping arrangement is a firm queen size mattress with box-spring (or a sofa or foam mattress roll if I have another house guest). When you arrive in Honolulu, you can take public transportation "The Bus" from the airport for $2.75 or a private shuttle bus for around $15, or a ride-sharing service. No smoking, drugs, or alcohol drinking is allowed in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My house is located less than 15 minutes walking distance to Diamond Head trail, which offers gorgeous views of Waikiki and other nearby landmarks. If you like swimming, there are several beaches nearby. It would take about 30 minutes to walk or 10 minutes by bicycle (I don't have a spare bike, but there are now bike sharing stations located nearby). Buses stop a block away from my house (fare is $2.75-exact change) that take you anywhere on this island (North Shore, Kailua's "Lanikai Beach"). Many other places to hike, too, such as Manoa Falls, Makapuu, and Koko Head. And you can go snorkeling at Hanauma Bay or see giant turtles near Haleiwa. There is a large farmers market held at Kapiolani Community College within 3 minutes walk of my house (every Saturday morning, and a smaller market Tuesday night). Before or after your workaway, you may like to check out the neighboring Hawaiian islands of Maui, Hawaii "Big Island", Molokai, Lanai, or Kauai, etc., which are accessible by airplane (unfortunately, there is no ferry service).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week, at your choosing




Host ref number: 393732716633