Join our multicultural family and help us to prepare family meals in Melbourne, Australia

Country

Australia

new host  

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    So! You have decided you want to experience Melbourne (the best city in Australia)! We have The Australian Open (tennis), The Formula One (car racing), and the Melbourne Cup (the horse race the stops the nation). You have made a good choice and will fall in love with this beautiful city like we have when we moved here years ago. Did you know Melbourne was voted "Most Liveable City in the World" 7 years in a row? It only lost the title to Vienna last year :(

    Now that you've decided you are coming to Melbourne, the next step is decide on what you want to do here. Of course you'll have to hit up all the tourist spots such as Brighton Beach Boxes and see the penguins at St Kilda beach but what will you do when you just want to chill and get a feel for what us citizens do on a daily basis. Do we really ride in kangaroo pouches and hop to school? Are we constantly carrying bug spray in our pockets in fear of being eaten by a brown snake or red back spider? Well, stay with us and find out!

    We are a young multicultural family of 4; mum, dad, a toddler and a newborn infant. Daniel (dad) is from Taiwan but raised in Australia. Kate (mum) is from Ukraine and studied in Portugal. The toddler, Alex was born in the UK, and the newborn Max, in Australia!

    We have a large 4 bedroom 2 bath house in beautiful Doreen, an outer suburb of Melbourne, around 30kms (55mins train ride).

    Our home is your home!
    You will have your own private bedroom and plenty of space around the house to stretch your feet or curl up on the sofa with a good book or simply watch TV. The house is clean, tidy, and comfortable. We are surrounded by parks and nature but still very close to shops and restaurants. It's the perfect place to raise a family and also welcome a traveller from another country to sample the domestic lifestyle of Australia.

    We are looking for a friendly, patient, and responsible girl to help Kate with two big tasks:

    1. Weekly shopping and cooking dinner 5 days a week and,
    2. Playing with the toddler (it will be even more awesome if you can speak another language other than English).

    It will be fantastic if you can stay for as long as possible. We might even adopt you ;)

    In return for your help, you will get free food and a place to call home. Come for the free meals & accommodation, stay for the friendship and memories!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Bet you will never come across a Taiwanese-Australian-Ukrainian-Portuguese-British family ever again!

  • Help

    Help

    Must love to cook or enjoy it enough so cooking dinner isn't going to make you homesick :) Kate loves to cook as well but it's just a bit tough with two kids that want attention.

    Let's be honest here, playing with the a 3 year old can get boring real fast. Luckily, this is no ordinary toddler. He is super cute, super smart, and he's generally okay with you sitting next to him to watch him.

    So really not a huge ask, all we ask is that you love kids and love to cook.

    Dad cooks on the weekends. Did we mention it's homemade pizza and beer/wine/juice night on Sundays?

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Chinese, Russian, Ukrainian, Portuguese.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your bedroom is very pink. It looks like it's straight out of a furniture catalog. It's very warm and welcoming. There's a nice firm single bed, book shelf, dressing table, and large wardrobes for your clothes and luggage. The house we live in is pretty big so we won't feel all cramped together and there's plenty of private spaces.

    Breakfast is a very casual affair. Help yourself to what ever is in the fridge or pantry. But be warned, if you're cooking eggs, make sure to cook some for Alex! Please let us know what you like to eat so we can include it in the shopping. And since you'll be doing most of the cooking, feel free to cook what you like for lunch and dinner; just make enough for 5 people!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Daniel volunteered as an English teacher once in Lithuania through workaway. He loved it so much he decided to be a host! We are a pretty normal family with an inclination towards OCD in regards to cleanliness. E.g. no shoes in the house. There is plenty of things to do on the weekends in Melbourne. You will be off duty on the weekends so feel free to catch a bus or train somewhere. We will be happy to join you if you're lonely :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 387239451425