Helping around the house in the beautiful and alternative Five Valleys in the Cotswolds, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a single mother of 4 children (and an adult daughter with Down Syndrome who lives independently). The four children are with me from Wednesday - Friday and every other weekend. My children and I live a very simple life where family, healthy food and art/music are very important. I am a full-time homemaker. I am a textile craftswoman and a volunteer breastfeeding counselor with La Leche League. My eldest daughter is 22, my son is 13 and then I have three younger daughters, 11, 8 and 6. My children attend a small progressive school that is based on the Steiner Waldorf curriculum. They are bright lovely children who sing, make music, and craft in their free time. We live in a four bedroom house on 4 acres of garden and land in the Chalford. We eat a meat and plant-based diet with little to no grains, so unfortunately we cannot accommodate vegetarians. We eat high quality organic meat and vegetables, that are nutritious and delicious. We have two friendly cats and a lively 10 month old Wired Haired Hungarian Viszla.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very artistic and alternative family. I think people who have grown up in a conservative or mainstream household could learn many things about our lifestyle including holistic medicine, yoga, textile arts, alternative education and nutrition. Gardening skills, building skills, cooking, and connecting with Nature.

  • Help

    Help

    i need an extra pair of hands around the house, in the garden and with the animals. This includes some simple cooking, playing with the children, cleaning, gardening, dog walking/training. I am also looking for someone who is very comfortable (and ideally skilled) around animals!! We will accept couples.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, basic Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own caravan about 5 m from the house.. Meals will be provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in an AWESOME area called the Five Valleys which is in the Cotswolds of England, a place of Outstanding Natural Beauty. There is beautiful country side for hiking, walking, horse-riding... there are rivers a short train ride away for kayaking.. we are close to the South Cerney Waterpark for jetskiing, sailing, wakeboarding etc. Forty five minutes away is Forest of Dean which has aerial Tree exploring and long off-road cycling paths. Across the street from our neighborhood is one of the biggest skate parks in the UK. Stroud is a very artistic alternative town with holistic healers, amazing music and art, organic farming etc. Textile arts are very popular here as well as woodcraft. We have well developed public transit for the bigger towns: Cheltenham, Bristol, Birmingham, Oxford and London is a 90 minute train journey from Stroud train station that is a 10 minute drive from our house. There are bus links into Stroud that link to all the surrounding towns for music, arts, theatre, restaurants, shopping etc. It is one of the most authentic and welcoming, beautiful and accessible areas of the English countryside.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 383469126759