Enjoy the idyllic farm and its surroundings, help with the horses, chickens and cats near Graz, Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/12/2018

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a small farm on the outskirts of the city of Graz. There are two older horses, a few chickens and two cats. The old farmhouse has been newly renovated since we bought it. I work full time as a teacher in Graz and need some help at the farm while my fiancé is travelling. My two sons (19,17) live with me part-time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Firstly, they can enjoy the idyllic farm and its surroundings, explore the city of Graz (40min on the bus, just 200m from the house). My sons and me will also show them around and do sight-seeing etc with them. Graz also has got a lot of things to offer for young people while being an absolutely safe place.
    They can also improve their language skills in German and English and get to know Austrian/Alpine-Adriatic culture.

  • Help

    Help

    The work itself isn't too hard but you often need to work independently. It's helping to muck the stalls and the paddock, feed the horses and chickens and cats when I'm not there yet. I often have long days so I cannot do that before darkness falls. The same goes for the household. I need some help so that I don't have to do it when I come home late. All together 3 hours a day or less.
    Languages I speak are German (mother tongue), English native-like and Spanish.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A nice light double room on the first floor, newly furnished with a great view. The big bathroom on the ground floor is shared.
    I don't have time to cook every day but I always cook when my sons come. We do eat meat, but don't need it every day. Help with the cooking would be appreciated.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport is easy, there is an hourly bus service to Graz during the day. I also drive every day, so I can give lifts, too. I am also prepared to give lifts when necessary.
    Graz has a wonderful old city centre with lots of cafes, restaurants, parks etc. Finding something to do is really easy and the nightlife is decent, too.
    We are used to having people at the house, because I always host teachers during exchanges. Since everybody needs some time for him/herself, I don't mind a quiet evening now and then.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 378912146991