Help my family establish an orchard and experimental garden bed in a small town in the Black Forest, Germany




Favourited 13 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

  • Description


    We are a young family (well, Jagger is 6 months old - Samuel and I, Shawna, are both in our mid-thirties) living at the edge of a small town in the Black Forest. We hope to develop a small nearby field in the woods into an orchard dotted with traditional and experimental garden beds. In the process we would like to host workawayers (as we were both workawayers ourselves two years ago) to share our lifestyle with others as we learn from them, and help to bring new energy into this tight-knit community. We have to-date 10 young fruit trees, a few traditional garden beds, and a couple Huegel Beds, where we are hoping to get a "Three Sisters" thing going before it is too late in the season (though it is shaping up to be corn corn corn).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn German, English or French.
    You can acquire manual skills, Samuel is a trained bicycle mechanic and plasterer, but also knows how to join and cut trees.

    Ihr könnt Deutsch, Englisch oder Französisch lernen.
    Ihr könnt euch Handwerkliche Fähigkeiten aneignen, Samuel ist gelernter Fahrradmechaniker und Stuckateur, weiss aber auch wie man schreinert und Bäume fällt.

  • Help


    We can use help in various areas:
    Forestry work: cutting down trees, pruning trees, maintaining forest paths, splitting firewood.
    Gardening: mowing the lawn, weeding, planting, watering .....
    Construction: paving, carpentry ........
    Transport: Organized material is collected by us and is then loaded and unloaded.

    Wir können Hilfe in unterschiedlichsten Bereichen gebrauchen:
    Waldarbeit: Bäume fällen, Bäume beschneiden, Waldwege pflegen, Brennholz spalten.
    Gartenarbeit: Rasen mähen, Unkraut jäten, Pflanzen, gießen.....
    Konstruktion: Pflastern, Schreinern ........
    Transport: Organisiertes Material wird von uns zusammen abgeholt und wird dann aufgeladen und abgeladen.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Food: 3 meals / day:
    Breakfast: we provide you with fruit, vegetables, oatmeal and bread.
    Lunch / Dinner: We prepare a hot meal once a day, which can be either at noon or in the evening, you can then prepare the other meal yourself.

    We provide you with a place where you can camp. Our refuge is still very minimalistic, but can serve as a shelter in bad weather.
    We also have 3 tents that we can rent.
    There is also space for a caravan or a mobile home

    At the shelter there is a toilet and a sink.
    To wash yourself, you can warm up water over the fire and treat yourself to a bath in the middle of nature.
    If it is too cold for a bath, you can take a shower in our apartment every now and then.

    you can give us the laundry and we will wash it for you.

    Electricity is available. There is a USB charger on which you can charge your smartphones.

    Unfortunately we have no WiFi on site. You can use the wifi in our apartment. Our apartment is 15 minutes away on foot.

    Essen : 3 Mahlzeiten/Tag:
    Frühstück: wir stellen euch Obst, Gemüse sowie Haferflocken und Brot zur Verfügung.
    Mittagessen/Abendessen: Wir bereiten einmal täglich eine Warme Mahlzeit das kann entweder mittags oder abends sein, die andere Mahlzeit könnt ihr euch dann selbst zubereiten.

    Wir stellen euch einen Platz bereit auf dem ihr Zelten könnt. Unsere Schutzhütte ist noch sehr minimalistisch kann aber bei Unwetter als Unterschlupf dienen.
    Wir haben auch 3 Zelte die wir verleihen können.
    Auch für einen Wohnwagen oder ein Wohnmobil ist hier Platz

    An der Schutzhütte gibt es eine Toilette sowie ein Waschbecken.
    Um sich zu Waschen kann man sich Wasser über dem Feuer warm machen und sich ein bad inmitten der Natur gönnen.
    Falls es zu kalt für ein Bad sein sollte, kann man auch hin und wieder in unserer Wohnung duschen.

    ihr könnt uns die Wäsche mitgeben, wir waschen sie dann für euch.

    Elektrizität ist vorhanden. Es gibt ein USB-Ladegerät an dem ihr eure Smartphones laden könnt.

    Leider haben wir vor Ort kein Wlan. Ihr könnt bei unserer Wohnung das Wlan nutzen. Unsere Wohnung ist 15 Minuten zu Fuß enfernt.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time you can of course explore the forest.
    Excursion destinations here in the village would be e.g. Burgbach waterfall and Glaswaldsee. To cool off in summer there is a small swimming pool in the village where you can also enjoy a beer or something similar.

    You can also take the bus to Freudenstadt. Here you can admire the largest market place in Germany or relax in the panorama bath.

    Day trips to Freiburg, Strasbourg or the Europapark are possible from here.

    We provide bicycles and are happy to help you organize your transport.

    Thanks for reading till the end, please include the words "crocodile hunter" in your mail, so we know that you read and understand all the conditions at our place.

    In eurer Freizeit könnt ihr natürlich den Wald erkunden.
    Ausflugsziele hier im Dorf wären z.B. Burgbachwasserfall und Glaswaldsee. Zur abkühlung im Sommer gibt es ein kleines Schwimmbad im Dorf wo man auch ein Bier oder ähnliches genießen kann.

    Mit dem Bus könnt ihr auch nach Freudenstadt fahren. Hier könnt ihr den größten Marktplatz Deutschlands bewundern oder im Panoramabad relaxen.

    Tagesausflüge nach Freiburg Straßburg oder auch in den Europapark sind von hier aus möglich.

    Wir Stellen euch Fahrräder zu Verfügung und helfen euch gerne bei der organisation eures Transports.

    Danke dass ihr bis zum Ende gelesen habt. Bitte benutzt in eurer Mail das Wort "Krokodiljäger" Damit wir wissen dass ihr wisst was wir euch bieten können und was wir von euch erwarten.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You are Welcome to use our wifi at our apartment. But be aware that our wifi is pretty slow. That means fast enough for e-mails etc., videochats are also working, but with a pretty low quality.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    In our Garden is enough Space for Camping. Just the Street to it is Pretty ruff. Ah Toilet is next to the garden house what also provides electricity. To bring electricity to your Camper will probably need extension cable.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    You can bring any animal, but you cant bring it in our apartment (so its no Problem if you stay in our garden with your tent, camper,etc) because my mom is allergic. Dogs have to be well trained or stay on the leash all time. We are next to the forest so there are things your dog wanna chase probably. Be aware that dangerous dogs like Pitbulls, Staffords etc. need to have special papers, always leash, muzzled, insured...etc according to german law.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 377868457379