Help tame our overgrown garden in the middle of the Bas Armagnac region, in the Gers. France

Country

France

Favourited 64 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2020

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Sally and I (Chris) moved to the South West of France 17 years ago, having bought a new, but, unfinished house with 2 hectares of land. We completed the inside of the house and made a garden, kitchen garden, lotus pond and orchard. The rest of the land was fenced.

    We have 2 horses, Squiggles and Doc and 2 dogs, Medlar and Figue

    The house is on the edge of a small village (76 inhabitants), in the middle of the Bas Armagnac region, in the Gers. This rural area is renowned for its gourmet food and tasty wines. There are many vineyards producing Cote de Gascon and Madiran wines as well as Armagnac. Ducks abound producing Foie Gras, Magret, Confiit and Cassoulet.

    The village is a 10 minute drive to the market towns of Nogaro and Aire sur l’Adour. Pau, with its attractive centre and airport is 45 minutes away. The major towns of Bordeaux, Toulouse and Biarritz, each with an airport, are 1hour 45 minutes away. The Pyrenees, visible from the house, are 2 hours away and provide beautiful scenery, walking, climbing and skiing. The beautiful sandy beaches of the Atlantic coast are 45 minutes away.

    Over the past 2 years we have been away for some time, and though the various house carers have looked after the inside and animals, the outside has been rather neglected.
    We now need some help to refresh the gardens, tidy the uncultivated areas- So if you are good with strimmers, loppers, wheelbarrows etc we would love to hear from you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Type of volunteer work

    We are looking for practical people ,willing to help with clearing overgrown scrub, cutting hedges and clearing out-houses and general things to get the place back on track.......!
    We will be tackling these jobs with you!

    Ideally you'll like food as this area has some of the best!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a double room with a separate shower room and separate WC. We have Wifi

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4hrs approx daily 4/5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 376258361469