Live and learn traditional practices from over 100 years with a family on a small farm near the City of Paltas, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/07/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi , My Name is Alcivar Gallegos ,
    I send you my regards. here in the Province of Loja, In the Archeological & Historically rich City of Paltas, in the community of Santo Domingo de Guzman.

    Here I live with my Beautiful Wife Aracely , And My mother and Father where we have our farm that produces Mangos , Sugar Cane , Peanuts , Avocados , and bananas. I am also a Carpinter and do woodworking for Local Mayors and coffee traders from around the province.

    We live next to a fresh river that flows from the mountain-top here , where the noise that interrupts the silence is from well intentioned Birds and Breezes flowing through the valley. It's Sunny here year round , and the weather is Relaxing.


    My Family and I are interested in Volunteers who would like to share time and experience while living the everyday life here on our Farm.

    Help With the Garden , Keeping things neat and tidy , Giving a hand While we make Panela , Mani , and other local Traditions would be the extent of our invitation to our volunteers.

    We offer a nice bed and food , and give you the freedom to explore the vast unexplored wilderness we have in this small community in which , to give you an idea our community center is under a bony plum tree , the school has 7 children and less than 100 habitants. we welcome Volunteers to help in the school during school season with language exchange and simply offering a positive and educative experience for the Children of the community.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Elderly Companionship
    General Maintenance
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will benefit specifically by learning traditional practices from over 100 years. From processing coffee, making sugar cane, peanut butter, traditional candies. A general benefit from this cultural exchange is the Beatiful nature in which you'll be right in the middle of.
    Fruit trees litter the property, mangoes avocado's, bananas, and a freshwater creek runs through the property where in season you can find exhilarating places to take a fresh clean swim after heating up a sweat on the farm.

    You'll be given the opportunity to help in the local school with language exchange, and with a professional title we can see about teaching a class with permission of the director who is a close friend.


    From there we are happy to work with qualified volunteers to see how we can make your stay most favorable for you and for the community.

    See you soon!

  • Help

    Help

    As mentioned Above ,
    Simple work around the farm 2 - 3 hours a day ,
    We welcome Initiative and cooperation , and great team Leaders who are passionate and want to get involved

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is a private room with two beds, furnished with television and WiFi.
    There is enough space for you to be comfortable.

    We have a comfortable home , Two beds
    a traditional washing machine , Wifi , television, stereo ,
    Everything for a comfortable stay

    We eat breakfast, lunch and dinner as a family at our large dinner table where we share stories, laughs, and insights about the community you will be around.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is the Archeological Site of Paltas , Where there is the piedra de sol. You will be in the epicenter of an archeological point from a mountain top spring , you can follow the stream and find caves and waterfalls , and pools to call your own.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 374869186373