Small holding in North Wales


United Kingdom

Favourited 183 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  • Description


    We look after a small holding on the Llyn peninsular, North Wales. We have a variety of animals and an orchard.

    We have given up our full time jobs to take care of the animals and land.
    We have alpacas that we breed and use their fibre for spinning and felting.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    How to process and use natural fleece from our sheep and alpacas. Learn about life on a small holding. Visit some of the castles we have in the area.

  • Help


    We would like someone to help us with the smallholding. Looking after the animals etc.
    We have recently extended our house, so we are still in a bit of a mess and would appreciate some help in painting some of the rooms.

    There are jobs to do all year round but you need to be weather resistant as it gets very wet and windy!
    You have to enjoy being outdoors whatever the weather.

    I do most of the cooking but you would be welcome to join in and cook for all of us. Meals can be a bit hit and miss depending on what we are doing. A bit of DIY at meals times may be required. We do keep pigs from time to time so please be aware that we are not vegetarian.

    I am also very behind with sorting alpaca fleece and would like some help with all my bags of fleece. There is loads to do, as I would also like to dye my own fleece as well. If you can spin, all the better! If not I can teach you. I am looking for keen people who can card and sort fleece with me. Don't worry if you don't know what to do. You will soon pick it up. Just enthusiasm is all you will need! We really need someone over the age of 26 who doesn't mind working on their own and doesn't mind the quiet life. There is no night life round here! It is quite rural.
    I have marked the Winter months as red as it can be quite bleak here but if you can help with fleece processing and don't mind the wind and rain then please do get in touch. We may be able to accommodate you!
    We tend to take people on for no more than two weeks. Please bear this in mind if you get in touch.
    I have an elderly mum who lives with us in a converted dairy, she very much does her own thing but loves company as well.

    I also have a small shop in town that I run 4 days a week. Some help with that would be useful too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, basic French, learning Welsh

  • Accommodation


    Spare bedroom in our house, with own bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live close to beaches and the mountains of Snowdonia. We are quite happy to take you out and about when we get chance.

    Public transport isn't too bad.

    You may even learn a little of the Welsh language.

    It's very quiet and peaceful where we live. If you like to walk, read or just sit quietly after the jobs are done, then this is the place for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week. Flexible.

Our wonderful workawayer let loose on the quadbike
Successfully halter training our baby alpaca.
Our orchard in May
Criccieth castle. About 9 miles from us.
Molly and her baby born 2013
Our House

Host ref number: 369339441526