Come explore nature and help with creature care (1 baby, 1 toddler, 1 dog) in beautiful Chilliwack, British Columbia. Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 71 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    We are a very active family of 4 (5 including Taco, our Border Collie), looking for a young (or young at heart) person or couple to help with childcare and light housework. Our little girl Kya is 2 years old as of September, and we have a newborn (Jasper) who was born July 2017. Our young (energetic) dog Taco is 3 years old. My husband and I are both part time physicians but right now I am home on maternity leave. We could use help from a work away volunteer to help us with childcare and cooking as my husband goes back to work (September 21st).

    We are passionate about mountain biking, skiing, hiking, camping,,etc. We live a 5 minute drive from mountain biking and hiking trails, as well as a 1 minute drive from the river (white water kayaking, walking, etc.). As we value living in a community more than owning a big house, we live in a 2200 sq foot, 3 floor attached house in the walkable community of Garrison Crossing. Groceries, pool, gym, yoga centre, pharmacy, takeout, dentist, etc. are all a 1 minute walk from our front door!

    My husband and I have spent many summers backpacking/hosteling/home-staying, so we know what it's like to be a traveller in a foreign country. Also, my husband grew up having volunteers and Foreign exchange students in his family home - so we have first hand knowledge of what it is like to share our home with a working volunteer.

    If you are active, we would be happy to take you biking/running/hiking/skiing with us and we have extensive knowledge of the local mountains if you want to venture out on your own :)

    Our town is a 1 hour and 20 minute drive from Vancouver (1 hour if there is no traffic, 2 hours if traffic is bad!), and local public transport is available to get you there if you want to explore the big city on your days off (however the bus will take more than 2 hours!). Chilliwack was originally a farming community and now has over 90,000 residents. It is unique in that it is situated on very fertile farmland (in the Upper Fraser Valley) but is surrounded by mountain ranges (with lots of good hikes), lakes and rivers. It is flanked by two major rivers (the Fraser and Vedder) where many people come to fish. We have a number of lakes near our house (Cultus, Harrison etc.) that you can get to by car (5 -40 minute drive), or bike (if you have the energy).

    Workawayers can borrow a bike (if you can't find what you need within walking distance) or can take public transport to get around town. Of course if we are heading out anyways, or have extra time, we'd be happy to give you a lift.

    We often do local weekend trips to other cities in BC and across the border to Washington. If you wanted to explore some other towns in our area, we'd be happy to drop you off along the way.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit from getting to live with a family with two part time working parents - well, with one of maternity leave (lots of practice with English!) and will get to participate in many of the outdoor activities that BC is famous for. We are a very active family and try to get outside rain or shine (although this is not always possible every day). We pride ourselves on challenging the 'norm' and even try to even get our infant outside with us on as many adventures as possible.

  • Help

    Help

    We would ask that our Work Away Guest be responsible mostly for helping care for our baby son and toddler daughter. Sometimes we will need you to watch them for 2-5 hours for work days, or we might need a couple hours of childcare for us to spend some time together outside. Our daughter is in daycare each day during the week so while she is at daycare we would love it if you could help hold our baby Jasper or cook a healthy meal for that night. We always have odd jobs on the go (building bike rack's, tending to the garden) so we may ask you to help with those too. Child care experience (with toddlers and babies) is a must, and a love of/comfort with dogs would be preferable. When we meet we can sit down to discuss a schedule for the week or two that you are here, and on your time off we will be happy to facilitate you exploring what Chilliwack and BC has to offer.

    In the evening after dinner (after approx 8 pm), my husband and I would prefer to have some private time just the two of us on the main floor. You will have a bedroom/bathroom/living room downstairs (with couch, computer, lots of books + t.v. with Netflix) that you can enjoy for yourself. Or- if you're here in the summer, it's light till pretty late so you may even want to spend your evening time outside! Whatever you want :) You are welcome to come upstairs to use the hot-tub in the backyard too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom, bathroom (with shower) and TV room in the basement. The kitchen will be shared. We will aim for one of the three of us (Myself, My husband, or You) to cook a healthy dinner to share each day. Otherwise, our kitchen is your kitchen and you are free to eat and cook whatever you want.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 365126624831