Experience the beautiful English countryside living on our small farm in Staffordshire, England

Country

United Kingdom

new host  

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Tracy and Richard live in an amazing hilltop location in a small village in Staffordshire close to the Peak District National Park. Our children are grown up and have moved away. So it's just us and Kody our collie dog - and thirty rare breed cattle. We're looking for help to maintain and run the large house, the vegetable patch and gardens.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy meeting and talking to people to learn about their lives and cultures and have travelled ourselves, so enjoy shared conversations.

    Whilst living on the farm you will have the chance to learn about the regenerative agricultural practices we are working on, and our commitment to producing healthy food whilst protecting and enhancing the local environment. You will get a chance to learn about the countryside and the local environment. We are converting our allotment to no-dig and mulching, so you can learn this with us too.

    There are many opportunities to learn about local heritage in the area including ancient abbey's, industrial archaeology and stately homes.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a couple or two friends who are happy to work both inside the house and outside ( you can split the work up or work together - your preference)

    Outside we need help pressure washing and tidying sheds and pathways, strimming weeds and repairing fences. There are also windows and doors to be painted on the outbuildings and some general repairs and maintenance.

    We have a raised bed vegetable garden which requires the usual, planting, harvesting and composting - we are starting to experiment with no-dig and mulching.

    Indoors we need help with sorting the attic ( our current project) , laundry, de-cluttering, window cleaning and cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in our lovely home, with a bedroom (can be double or single beds) and your own shower, toilet and wash basin. There is also a room with a television you can have for your own use. It is a large house and there is plenty of space. We are flexible about food arrangements but would generally expect to provide you with most meals, eating with ourselves. You would also be free to cook for yourselves with food provided if you prefer. We eat meat (often our own beef) although we are moving towards a plant based diet. We are happy to accommodate vegetarians. If you are vegan you will probably have to do most of your own cooking as we are not very experienced.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a cosy local pub in the village which also serves meals. We also have a large farm shop and cafe. There are plenty of local walks from the doorstep, including a nearby lake.

    We are a few miles from the Peak District National Park which is a great place for walking and cycling. We have some old bikes which you could use. There are a number of small towns nearby ( 5 miles, 6 miles and 7 miles away) with a bus service from the village. The nearest town has a cinema, ice skating rink, ten pin bowling alley, gym and a horse racing course and we would be happy to run you into town from time to time. There is also a train station which gives you easy access to the larger cities of Nottingham, Birmingham and Manchester .

    We live a relaxed life enjoying our surroundings. Tracy is limited in her activity by an auto-immune disease but takes regular yoga and chi kung classes as well as walking the dog and meditation practice. Richard loves technology, film and gets distracted on x-box. We both enjoy trips out to the theatre and other social activities as well as cosying up with a good book in front of the fire in winter.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 364588285164