Come and stay in a beautiful part of the English Lake District in Rydal and help me with my disabled daughter Amelie, the garden and house, and of course Ted the Terrier. UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Sarah. I work from home as a designer. There is myself, Amelie, my daughter (16) and Ted our dear little dog (except when he needs his ball to be thrown.)
    Amelie has severe learning difficulties and does not understand language and so cannot speak.
    She can be pretty funny though and has lots of personality. But she can also be loud and difficult. In general she enjoys life. We live a pretty quiet life and enjoy just hanging out, going canoeing, walking the dog, taking Amelie out on her tricycle etc. I do a bit of acting for the World of Beatrix Potter in Bowness as Beatrix Potter and also about 5 theatre shows a year at the Staveley Roundhouse and with Grasmere Players which is why I'd love a bit of babysitting if it coincides with your visit.
    I live in a beautiful house with a beautiful garden in a beautiful area, which I hope means you would enjoy your stay here.
    I would also like it if your visit could be at least 6 weeks. For Amelie's sake it can be hard to adjust to new people and so it would be nice if the connections were of a substantial length.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live in a truly beautiful part of the English Lake District called Rydal. It is surrounded by mountains, rivers and lakes. This is Wordsworth Country and the house I live in was once lived in by the Armitt sisters. This is a very rural area, but because of the close connection to the Lakes Poets there are museums and cultural centres nearby. If you love walking the mountains then you'll be in heaven here. If you love wild swimming then same. I live in a hamlet with one pub and no shops, but if you like shopping, then Ambleside, which is full of lovely little independent shops and boutiques, is only a mile away.

    You can learn a lot about dealing with a person with severe learning difficulties and lack of normal communication.

  • Help

    Help

    I would love some help with my non-verbal autistic daughter. Again, I'm not looking for someone to do loads of work with her, just a bit of babysitting on some evenings. But it would be amazing to have someone who knew something about severe communication disorders or to be really open to it.
    I would also love help with an enormous garden that has river frontage. Plenty of scope for anyone who has ideas about using the garden to its full potential. I'm not looking for gardening slaves! Just someone who enjoys it and knows a bit about it :).
    I would also much prefer couples or 2 friends travelling together. Amelie can be quite daunting at first, so I think it is easier if there are two people.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It is a large and lovely house. The room you would have looks out over an acre of garden with river frontage and is large and airy. I would be happy for us all to eat together at lunch and dinner. But I am happy to accommodate other wishes. I would probably ask that on school mornings that I am able to get Amelie off to school in the taxi (8:20am) before interacting. Hope that doesn't sound anti-social. It is much more that Amelie has severe learning difficulties (due to not understanding language) and it is easier if I am able to focus on her in that period. So if you don't like getting out of bed early, this is the place for you!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I've pretty much covered the Lake District appeal above. So you could go walking, swimming, canoeing, sailing, climbing. Depending on the time of year, there are buses. In summer every fifteen minutes or so. In Winter much less, but I am happy to help get you somewhere.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 363695844647