Gardening in Northern Ireland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am 53 and very fortunate to live in an area of outstanding natural beauty in Ireland. I am a Christian and attend the Methodist Church here in Dundrum but we have also got all sorts of other churches very close by. I'm married to Michael and we have a small dog a terrier crossbreed called Woofie. I am retired now and we do a lot of walking in the local forest parks, nature reserves and beaches. We have a spare room in our two bedroom flat which we have been using for guests through an online rental platform. From where we live there is good public transport linking to the North of Ireland via Belfast and the South via Dublin. 3 miles away my parents have a very large garden and I need some help over the summer with that. Unfortunately Michael, my husband, smokes and although he stands at the windows our sitting room smells a little smoky but at least the rest of our flat is smoke free.. My sister and her young family live close by. All the men in our family are sport mad! We have bikes and a safe route from here to Newcastle where the garden is or we can get the bus. I will pay the fare. We do not want alcohol or parties in our flat but we are happy if you like to visit the pub.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As I would only want help 4 mornings per week travellers would be free to explore other parts of Ireland every long weekend. All my family and friends speak good English if you want to practise. My father is an experienced gardener if you would like to learn a little about the job. There are lots of restaurants and pubs near buy to try our food, drink and music. There is an open air swimming pool here. The mountains have many safe tracks to walk.. 30 minutes away is the museum for the area. It is Downpatrick where St Patricks grave and churches are. Here you will also find the closest cinema and big swimming pool. There are several places to ride horses and also hire bicycles to ride in the forest or on the road. A boat takes visitors out from the nearby harbour to do rod sea fishing and another one gives a tour of the local sea life and the coast line.

  • Help

    Help

    Cutting small hedges, cutting lawns with petrol mower, Strimming with electric or petrol strimmer, edging borders, weeding, harvesting gooseberries, blackcurrants and raspberries.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A double bed in a double bedroom with a TV and WIFI. Use of the shared ( with me and my husband) kitchen and bathroom. Our dog sleeps in a cage inside and gets plenty of excercise. She has short hair so it is easy to keep the communal area clean. Make your own breakfast. Start work at 9am. Tea break 10 - 10.30. Finish work at 12.30. We eat our main meal together and then you are free to do what you want for the rest of the day. I can make you sandwiches for your evening meal if you like . You will have a cupboard and part of the fridge and freezer for your use. We have an electric oven with 4 rings to cook on and anot electric toaste, kettle and microwave. Also there is a kettle in the guest room. We have a washing machine for clothes but not for dishes. We don't have a clothes dryer but we have a clothes line outside. It isn't hard to dry the clothes by hanging them on hangers inside if you need to. Our water and heating is done by gas so it it is very quick and easy. We have a bath and a shower.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours per day 4 days a week

The guest room
Guest room
View of the mountains from our flat
The garden is in Newcastle
Picnic table at our flat
Bike parking at our flat
The garden
My rowing boat. Will be in the water over the summer.
Dad and I at church
I am standing at the Norman the castle in our village.


Host ref number: 363197869141