Help around my home for language practice in Winnipeg, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 44 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and stay with me for a few weeks in warm-hearted Winnipeg! Sharpen your English and see the sights in the area, while giving me a hand around the house for maybe four hours a day.
    My children have grown up and moved on, so I'd appreciate a hand with a few day-to-day things (keeping the house clean, making simple noon-hour meals eg. pasta) and shovelling snow if it snows.
    In return -- as a retired English and Math teacher, I can drill you for at least 2 hours a day in conversational English.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can help you with your English. Before retirement I was a teacher. Over the years I've tutored many newcomers to Canada, in learning English, obtaining driver's licenses, etc.

    You will have all your remaining free time to roam Winnipeg checking out its museums, cultural events, and so on.

  • Help

    Help

    Give me a hand with some housework AND some house repairs for four hours a day, and the rest of the day is yours. It would be great if you could make the simple noon meal, help me wash the floors and clean up when needed. Also, it would be a huge help if you'd be willing to shovel snow around the house as needed.
    In return, I can teach you English -- spoken and written, easy-going or intensive -- your choice. I can teach you how to make Ukrainian perohy (perogies), cabbage rolls and borshcht. Other days, meals are simple: soups and pastas... porridge or cereal in the mornings.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Tagalog: Fluent
    Ukrainian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own private room with a single bed, on the main floor of the building. Bathroom is shared with home owner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is just a minute's walk to busy Main Street, with many buses going to various areas of the city. I'm only a few minutes' walk to a dollar store, small grocery stores, and fast-food restaurants (KFC, Taco Bell, McDonalds).
    In no particular order: My home is a non-smoking home. A small dog visits occasionally. I'm not keen on late-night noise. The house is very secure -- you would feel safe as I have camera security at the entrances. If you know how to make once in a while a mean vegetable lasagna, or an omelette, you'd rock! :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 361389586758