Help a family renovating an old house and gardening in a stunning valley near Crest, south of France

Country

France

Favourited 66 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a family of 4, with two boys of 10 and 7 years old, with a french dad and a belgian mum. We moved to south of France 5 years ago, after have been working many years in different countries for NGO's (Doctors Without Borders). Laetitia is a psychologist, specialized in brief therapy and EMDR and Cedric is a coach and trainer in the humanitarian field.
    We really love the fertile and innovating valley where we live. We just bought an old farm 2 years ago and we have started to renovate it to make it more comfy to live in.

    Our kids go to a school in a agro-organic farm and we have co-created 5 years ago with other parents a montessori kindergarden school.

    We are looking for motivated and energetic people to help us renovating our house from the 11th to the 21st of JULY 2018.

    To describe the help we need in more detail;
    Help with with the renovation of some rooms (painting and buildong up a shower), and maybe some gardening.
    We like proactive people who are willing to give a hand in day to day tasks.

    We live in the "bio vallée (organic valley)" of France, half distance of Avignon and Lyon, near the mountains (le vercors) and just near the river. We live 2km away from the center of our small town (10000 inhabitants) where you can find everything you need. Our house has an incredible view, a big garden, and a small swimming pool but so nice in summer.

    A lot of walks, bike rides and hikes start at the house and will take you around the area. We are close to the great massif of the "Vercors" : rock climbing, paragliding, gliding, kayaking,...

    We provide mostly organic food as we live in "the organic valley/ la bio vallée " of France.

    Important : We live in a area where allergic people might suffer in August are there is a strong allergene plant around call ragweed (ambroisie) which is flourushing in August.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have been working in 4 different continents, mostly in developing countries and we love encountering new people.
    We are already bicultural family and we are eager to have our children meeting with different cultures.

  • Help

    Help

    We will need one to two people for gardening and some renovations help: painting walls, coatings, maintenance of the swimming pool, small stone work, and any other help needed in the renovation of our house.

    We might need also some help on cooking.

    We usually work during the week and try to rest on WE.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french, english, spanich, portugues

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have one private room with single or double bed. The garden is flat and very big if you prefer to stay in a tent (we have one big tent)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can easily go by foot or bike to the town (Crest) where you will find almost everything: shops, doctors, bars, a good cinema, a big outdoor swimming pool,.... and the river (la drôme)
    We often go to the river for a picnic in the evenings: it is quieter and so good to relax from the hot day.

    During the first week of August, there is a famous "jazz vocal festival" in Crest, our town.

    There are plenty of hiking, biking, and it's easy to travel by train or bus in our beautiful valley.

    We have bicycles for you as well as climbing gear if you like.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Welcome (picture from switzerland)
The view from our garden
The garden
another view from the garden
The river, la Drôme, 2 km away from the house where we can swim, kayaking,..
Our small swimming pool with our house behind the trees
An old farm that we are renovating
Our family, in our garden



Host ref number: 352873571182