Help in our home and enjoy the beauty of Marin County, San Rafael CA, USA

Country

United States

new host  

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of two parents and three sons: 12, 6, and 1.5 yrs old living in the Bay Area. Our small city is called San Rafael and is the main hub of the county of Marin. Seeking help with housekeeping, playing with our kids, landscaping, gardening, carpentry tasks, general maintenance and cooking/cleaning.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My husband and I are nurses and we both work in hospitals nearby. I am a labor and delivery nurse and my husband is a surgical nurse. We have both traveled a lot and my husband was in the Navy long ago. We love to meet new people and want our children to learn about different cultures. We would love to help you learn English. While you are here you have access to the city of San Rafael and are 32 km from San Francisco. You will learn something about working class American culture with us and have fun in this dynamic area!

  • Help

    Help

    With three children and two working parents our house needs constant cleaning. We need help with laundry and cooking every day. Engaging with our 19 month old and 6 yr old while we work around the house is helpful too! Landscaping and gardening around our home, helping to cook and clean up after meals. If you have carpentry skills, we need help to rebuild our carport and build a shelter for the bicycles. We’d like to transform the small amount of land around our house into a fun place for the kids to play and for us to hang out. We would love to find a Workawayer who loves kids and playing outside.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, some French and some Mandarin Chinese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private bedroom in our home with a full size bed, dresser and desk. You will also have your own bathroom. You are welcome to eat with us at our dining table and share our food. We would like it if you cook some of the meals if you like to cook, otherwise we make our food and eat at home together. There are many restaurants in central San Rafael if you prefer to eat out.
    Our house is a single family home 1 km from the center of town. We have 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. Because we have small children and work in the hospitals, we go to bed early 8pm, and wake around 6 AM. We ask for our guests to please observe quiet hours 8 pm-7 am as well as when the baby is napping. No smoking in the house please. We do not wear outdoor shoes in the house and refrain from using perfume/cologne. We like to eat whole, well-sourced, organic foods.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many beautiful parks, places to walk and hike as well as cycling and mountain biking. The Pacific Ocean is just 35 kilometers away where you can surf. The city of San Francisco is just 32 km by bus with museums, restaurants and tons of entertainment.
    We go to the beach most weekends and bike daily with our kids. We love the outdoors and nature.
    We have a piano and two guitars in the house and if you play, would love to share music.
    We have one extra bicycle you can borrow and one that needs to be fixed, there are buses from San Rafael that go all over. You can also take the ferry boat into San Francisco!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 351271896478