Join a household of Creative Folks in Berkeley California, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 143 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/07/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a visual artist 58 years old. My husband works in the energy regulatory field and our teen daughter loves to dance. We call our home "The Estate of Entropy" because it fosters an energetic flow. Our home is ideal for nurturing the creative spirit.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will love Berkeley! You will expand your paleo cuisine cooking skills, nurture your gut bacteria and grow your own food. Depending on the season you may learn to harvest, dry, and ferment fruits and vegetables. You will learn to care for Chickens. You will meet new people and get support for your creative endeavors. I can teach you about visual art and introduce you to the local arts community (dance, writing, music, etc).

  • Help

    Help

    Hi--My husband and I are San Francisco Bay Area natives. We live in a large house in Berkeley California where I grew up! I am interested in permaculture and are looking for help in the garden (we like to grow our own food)--. We also would like help with errands (need someone who can drive) and with animal care (cats and chickens--especially when we travel). We also need help with cooking, cleaning, and general household organization. Depending on your skills and interests I would love some help learning French and help with on-line marketing and social media). I am a studio artist and if you want I can train you to help me make molds for glass kiln casting. I also have inherited the task of emptying out a relatives house, depending on your timing, we may be sorting and packing items as well.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room access to a shared kitchen and bathroom. You will have some dinners with us (especially ones you help make!). You will be responsible for making your own breakfasts and some of your own lunches. We can offer you a bike to get around and a small stipend to help cover food costs. There is no smoking anyplace on our property and it is illegal to smoke most places in Berkeley so this situation only works for non smokers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our house is a 20 minute walk to UC Berkeley. Located in a wonderful neighborhood close to shops and transportation. Great for walking and biking. Hiking close by. Our community is full of creative, ethnically diverse open minded intellectual people doing interesting things. We are close to Oakland (the most exciting art place in America) and just across the Bay from San Francisco. There is always something inspiring going on!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 347272918483