Help out with language exchanges and general maintenance at our coffee shop in the Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 491 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/03/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a coffee shop/bakery in the Galápagos Islands right on the water of Isla Santa Cruz. Our cafe is right near the main dock of the island where downtown Puerto Ayora is. There are many restaurants and bars in this area. Even though Puerto Ayora is really just a small town, it is actually the most populated area in all of the Galapagos.

    We are an Ecuadorean family and we live above the coffee shop in the same building. We have an extra room for a volunteer to stay have privacy. You will have your own private bathroom and WIFI which is rare in the Galapagos. Our family has lived in the Islands for the last 40 years so feel free to ask any questions about the culture or about traveling. We encourage you to explore other areas on your days off. There is a lot to see here.

    We are sorry, but we already have volunteers coming until next year (Jan-2018). Thank you for understanding.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about the island culture and Ecuadorean food. At the cafe we have books and maps for you to read, and you can learn all about the history of the islands and travel to them all. We encourage our volunteers to travel and do a lot of site seeing on their time off.

    Even on the days that you help, we are so close to the beaches that you can go for a little while before or after. But especially on a day off, you can take a boat to another island, see all the exotic animals, go snorkeling or scuba diving, go to one of the science centers, hike around in countless ecological trails, or go camping.

    You can practice your spanish with most people here if you are learning, but also if you speak english, you will meet plenty of people who use it as a second language. You will be able to help out every once in a while with your language, because we get customers here from all over the world, and its always good to have someone new and different.

    You will be living right in the heart of the capital city here, so there is a lot for you to learn about the Galapagos and we look forward to learning a lot from you, too.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a volunteer to exchange skills and knowledge with us at our Cafe in a very busy area. There are many tourists in this area from all over the world, so people who speak two or three languages are always very useful. Our cafe acts as an information center a lot of time because it is very close to the main dock.

    We are looking for someone friendly to have patience and practice language skills with our staff members as well as other travelers. And also while you are here, you can learn about the coffee making process from right here in the Galapagos. Also, helping out in general with maintenance is always needed.

    We need babysitting help on February and March 2019. Our children, Lucas (8) and Marcus (5) will love to learn more English and Czech. :-)

  • Languages spoken

    Czech: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a comfortable, private room for one volunteer with its own bathroom inside with a shower. You will have WIFI in the cafe downstairs and also in your bedroom. If you have ever been to the Galapagos before, then you know that WIFI is rare. You will also have your own refrigerator in your room and your own air conditioning. All volunteers will have breakfast and dinner provided.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 346359581326