Young dynamic family seeks a sweet play-buddy for our baby girl at our riverside estate near Serra de Estrela National Park, Portugal



Favourited 17 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    Hi there,
    We are Didde & Jabbar, and we run a B&B and retreat centre at our riverside estate located on the outskirts of Serra de Estrella National Park. We live here with our cute little year and a half old daughter, two very sweet (and big) dogs, a naughty little kitten, a few chicken, and a constantly hungry billy goat. We have a river beach with an excellent and private fishing and swimming spot, lots of flowers, a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and lots and lots of rosemary and olive trees. The nearest town is Fornos de Algodres, 2 hours from Porto, and 10 min drive from the majestic Serra de Estrela National Park.
    We are developing this wonderful piece of land to create a space of zen and tranquillity, with an aim to host guests from all over the world. We are an open-house to creativity and ideas, and offering a full B&B experience, deliciously healthy meals, along with a variety of activities, such as yoga, meditation, Ayurvedic massage, workshops and retreats, as well as horse walks and horse riding.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange is a big part of the Workaway experience, and is central to the experience we want to offer our volunteers. We would like to consider our place a cultural melting pot as both of us come from a diverse cultural background. Between us we are well versed in 5 languages (English, Danish, Persian, Arabic and Urdu). This goes for our culinary skills as well. Every other Friday we host a communal meal for the local community (expats, volunteers, tourists and locals) where we cook delicious and authentic delights from all around the world (including, Indian, Iranian, Arabic, Danish, Italian, English and American food). We are always happy to share recipes and teach our volunteers and friends the traditional way of making wholesome home-cooked food - and a lot of our dishes have Ayurvedic properties. We use a lot of home-grown ingredients fresh from our vegetable garden, and yes, we are very happy to teach our volunteers how to grow your own vegetables and herbs. In addition to that, there are plenty of opportunities to mingle with the local community and discover a whole new world of skills that are useful to sustain an organic and natural lifestyle in the countryside.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We primarily need help with looking after our baby girl who is one and a half years old and discovering this beautiful world for the first time. She is super easy-going and loves to play outdoors with her pets (a big dog, a puppy, a kitten, a billy goat and four chicken), smell the flowers in our garden, and splash around in the water - all day long if she could have her way. We just need someone sweet of heart who is kind and could play with her while we are busy with our daily chores. We do most of the cooking for her but we would really appreciate if at times you could whip up a tasty little snack for her. Other than that not much more is expected from our volunteers, unless they would like to help out with any ongoing fun project that they would like to be a part of. In which case we would gladly switch duties so you can get a variety of experience during your time with us. There is always a lot of free time for our volunteers to relax, enjoy a swim at our river beach, take a walk/drive around this beautiful valley and discover all the beauty that completely surrounds us. You can even go horse-riding on a fairly regular basis if you wish at our collaborating partners, located only a short drive away.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    There are three options for accommodation depending on the situation:
    1. If you have your own van to sleep in it would be great! You can park it not far from the bathroom that you will share with us.
    2. You can stay in a small room downstairs next to our room. There are no windows in the room...
    3. When there are no guests, you can sleep in one of the guest rooms upstairs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Host ref number: 344174718466