Wiltshire, UK: needed (1) muscles for moving furniture or rubbish (2) gardening (3) general maintenance (installing shelves)


United Kingdom

Favourited 44 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment


Contact Register

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description


    I'm interested in living an eco-friendly life and enjoy swimming, pilates, yoga, belly dancing, knitting, sewing, reading novels and singing.
    I like to spend time with my partner Neil when I'm in the UK. Neil has worked away from home for 20 years so his home is cluttered with half-finished projects.
    I'm tackling his garden first and need help this summer with digging, weeding, constructing raised vegetable beds and removing ivy from the back of the garage.
    Next I need help emptying the garage, replacing the 2 garage doors, installing shelves and a workbench, whitewashing the inside walls.
    If you are able to extend the hard standing area in front of the garage that would be super but is not essential.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The local areas are pretty and with many historical points of interest, ranging from prehistoric Avebury henge, through Roman Cirencester, Regency Bath a little further away to Bristol with its industrial suspension bridge. Neil was an archeologist so is full of interesting snippets of history. A one night stay is absolutely fine provided you can help with the work.

    We speak a little French and Spanish. Between us we enjoy films, live music, crafts, martial arts, swimming, cycling, historical re-enactments, camping, sewing, knitting, cooking.

    Approx 200m from the front door there is: a bus stop into RW Bassett/Swindon/Chippenham, petrol station for snacks (cigarettes), pharmacy, restaurant/take-away food as well as a local Co-Op food shop approx. 1/2 mile walk.

  • Help


    decluttering, gardening, general maintenance

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, beginner Spanish and French

  • Accommodation


    You will have a single bed in your own room with shared family bathroom.

    If Neil is at home he is a superb cook; I'm more of a prepare-family-meals-so-everyone-is healthy-and-doesn't-starve cook! We eat meat but are happy to cater for vegetarians, HFLC diet, IF or most other eating styles if given notice. I will do the washing up. Brunch (full English if wanted), lots of coffee/tea and supper will be provided.

    There are no pets. We'd prefer non-smokers but you can smoke in the garden. We would ask for a maximum of 4 hours work/day.

    There is TV, DVD player and WiFi in our home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off: The local area is beautiful and accessible by a good bus and rail service: Chippenham, Bristol, Malmesbury, Avebury henge, the Cotswolds, Bath, Cheltenham. The nearest bus stop is about 200m from our front door. You can borrow our bicycles to explore locally. London is about 90 minutes by train.

    The work away experience is new to us. You would be welcome to join us in the evenings or to go out and explore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days/week (happy for more 1 day so next day free- flexible)

I started kickboxing at 50 (better late than never!)
did I mention that Neil shoots longbow?
charity event at school

Host ref number: 337228229425