Live in a small village in Lower Saxony with 8 horses on our new farm - Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear Work Aways,
    me (Bea, 36 years old) and my husband (Manuel,39 years old) live in a small village in lower saxony, Germany, 6 km from Nienburg/ Weser. it´s located between Hanover and Bremen, in both directions 60 km. You can go easily from our village by bus or bycicle to Nienburg/ Weser and then by train. By car it´s also easy to reach the cities by highway. The village is really near to the famous "Weserradweg" where much tourists love to do a trip. our landscape is fantastic to ride by a horse or bike.
    We live since 2017 on our new horsefarm with 8 horses (Andalusians, Lusitano, Haflinger, Quarter Horse Mix, Noriker, Welsh Pony, Shetland Pony) and 2 dogs (Podenco Canario). We have a big house (380 qm) with many guest rooms where you can live in while you are working on our farm and use your own kitchen and bathroom (you only have to share when there are other guests too).
    On our farm there is much work to take care for the horses and dogs and to build things in the stable and house.
    My husband is working as a mechanic in a company nearby whole day during the week.
    Me, I´am working for a Company called "Jazz- Jugendaktionen zur Zukunft". Most the time there are children and young people who come to our farm for Therapeutic Riding (Occupational Therapy), sometimes I have to work also in the organization. I am also often on tour in giving dressage/ liberty work lessons and clinics, horse shows or for film productions. My second passion is Tango Argentino. I have a lot of connections in this scene especially in Hanover or Bremen and start my training to get a tango teacher in 2019.
    We both love to get in contact with other cultures and people. Me. I´m speaking a little, little french and spanish as well.

    With kind regards, Bea & Manuel

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You as a traveller could benefit because we could include you in the work of Therapeutic Riding, dressage and liberty work with horses and the Tango Argentino for example

  • Help

    Help

    You will not assist or help for paying costumers.

    The most help we will definitely need is for cleaning 8 horse boxes and paddocks every day:

    That means round about 2-3 hours physically work per day, you have to be able to use a fork and a trolley and be not afraid to get dirty or of the smell of horses. You have to be in a good fitness constitution and strong. Doesnt matter if you are male or female. It´s not necessary that you are a professional with horses. You dont need much horse experiences with horses to clean the boxes. but if you want to, we can show you some basics.

    Sometimes (unregularly) if we are not at home you could go for a walk with our 2 dogs (Podencos). It would be helpful if you know dogs already.

    And you can choose between other Jobs:

    - We also need some help to clean the house
    (male or female)

    - And we always need help for different jobs in farm stuff and build decorate the stable. You can help my husband in this work. (Strong men needed). For example (depends on your skills. every little thing will help):

    -building horse fences
    -building horse stables
    -put down stonewalls and build a common room in the stable
    -build a wall of wood ("Bande") in the inside riding arena (you have to have skills in working with wood like a carpenter)
    and much more...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, french, spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    you can stay in a room, depends on how much people you are. We have 2 rooms for 2 people and one room for 4 people. The rooms are in the first floor of our house. it´s a seperated appartement from our private area. In this appartment you have your own kitchen and bathroom (you only have to share with other guests). Mostly dinner and also lunch we can have together but you can also eat by your own in your kitchen if you prefer. Me, I cook and eat veggie (no meat but fish). My husband eats meat. So just tell me what you like or not like to eat and we will always find something that everyone is happy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In front of our farm you can find a volleyball and soccer field.
    And you can visit many famous sights nearby like "Schloß Bückeburg", museum of helicopters and police, or go for a trip by boat on the river "Weser" and much more.....

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5-7 days a week




Host ref number: 331828634988