Help creating a beautiful vegetable garden and taking care of animals in a viking house, central France!



Favourited 24 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    Hi, I live in a beautiful wooden house in Creuse the very center of France. It's a natural place with plenty of lakes, hiking tracks, cows and people living here to be far away from big cities. Most of my friends here practice different crafts activities as Carpenters, wood workers, artists ... and I'm mylself of jeweller. We take part of a network of organised people who opened different associative bars or shared workshops.

    I take care of three cats and two horses and live in the house built by two of my friends who left to travel. I'd like to take advantage of the time I spend here to organise well the garden, create a beautiful place for vegetables, pick fruits availables in the wild trees all around depending on the season, and transform a part of them to keep them for wintertime. I'll need help to take care of the horses, feed and cuddle the cats (I'm unfortunatly allergic) and create and mantain a beautiful and efficient vegetable garden so we can eat the fruits for summer!

    I'll probably have to work on the side and won't be available all the time but we'll take some times to talk about your needs and how to organise the time together. And I'll be pleased if you feel free to give a bit of your creativity in this garden we can definitly build together! In your spare time you can go hiking, swimming in one of the lake around, explore this low mountain area, or go to one of our big cities around (1200 and 1700 inhabitant) where there is a swimming pool with sauna/hammam, a cinema, a museum (this area is well know to work wool and tapestry), yoga curses, french workshops for foreigners, plenty of repairing bikes/sawing/...workshops.. 15 minutes drive each one from my house. I can drive you there, also hitchhike works well here. If you wanna try jewellery making I can give you a workshop, I work with silver and can show you how to sold metal ...

    There is also loads of associations here that need volunteers sometimes, and it's always very good times to share with the big and interesting variety of people involved in all the social, political, ecological projects around. So if you hear of something interesting around and want to take some days to explore, feel free to ask.

    Every friday there is a very good producer market in the town close by, Felletin. Most of the food there is local and grown by friends or people we know, and organic. It's a time for inhabitants to take a coffee or a drink at the terrasse and there is a very good atmosphere.

    I eat sometimes meat but cook only vegetarian dishes, and I love to prepare food for guest, so be sure you'll be well fed. Also it's very important for me to eat local organic food, I can provide simple food for the three meals of the day. We have an amazing producer market close by, and an organic shop if you wanna participate with extras .

    You'll have a bedroom for you in the house or in the workshop close by, also you can camp in the garden during summertime.

    Felletin is 1,5hrs from Clermont-Ferrand and Limoges.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The place is very lost and anthentic in france.
    Loads of associations, alternative life, crafts, gigs, openminded people!

  • Help


    Gardening, growing vegetables, picking fruits, tranform food (cans, freeze, cooking) taking care of animals (2 horses and three cats), cooking, helping with the house in general

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, spanish (intermediate)

  • Accommodation


    A proper bed in one of the two bedrooms in a beautiful authentic wooden viking house. Or camping in the garden during summer if you like it.
    I live with little money and It's very important for me to cook organic food from the market or the garden, so the food will be simple, but I love to cook for guests so I'll be very happy to take care of your bellies.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beautifun lakes to explore in Summer, Canoe, yoga curses, hiking, participate to one of the workshops organised around... The place is little touristy, but there is plenty of things to do.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3hrs a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 331296623111