Help out on our small-holding in South Perthshire, Scotland


United Kingdom

Favourited 379 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a Dutch family of 4 with one 16 and one 17 year old, living in Scotland in the beautiful Strathearn valley in South Perthshire.

    We have an organic hobby farm where we have some poultry, all types of vegetables and an orchard for fruit production. We live an active and healthy outdoor life style; with walking and swimming in the summer and ski in the winter.
    We love animals and at the moment we have a menagerie of hens, one cat and 4 dogs.
    We are a creative couple and our skills are mainly in gardening and textile design.
    We would need help mostly with gardening, household duties and looking after the dogs (Two small ones and two retrievers) however this post would suit a creative person as we would encourage you to help us with our creative projects of gardening or textile design.
    The village is 5 minutes walk and has good public transport connections to the main cities of Crieff, Perth, Stirling and Edinburgh. The nearest train station is only 10 minutes by car.

    Depending on availability our volunteers will stay in a double bedroom with an en-suite bathroom or a single bedroom with a shared bathroom opposite the bedroom.

    A washing machine is available to do your own laundry. We have a reliable broadband connection for WIFI. We don’t smoke and we expect our guests not to smoke either.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about some Scottish heritage as one of us works in the tweed industry as a designer. There are a lot of large craft tables available for creative projects.

  • Help


    We mainly need some help in and round the house with gardening and dog walking. We are both creative parents with two teenagers. If you are at all creative, interested in gardening and looking after animals, then this is the workaway for you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English - Dutch - French - German

  • Accommodation


    We have a double bedroom with an ensuite private bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Available transport : bus, train to Edinburgh from Dunblane. Gleneagles trainstation is 10 min away by car
    Stirling and Perth are 30 minutes away by bus.
    Stirling College offers language classes and a get together for young people from abroad.
    Crieff has many tourist attractions including a resort hotel where there are horse riding facilities.
    Crieff also has a leisure centre with swimming pool.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 per day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)

Host ref number: 325233551764