Help create Mountain Bike Trails and Treehouses, 8 miles from Nashville. USA


United States

Favourited 200 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    Katie and I traveled with a VW van to South America and back during a 2 year adventure. Once we returned, we realized that we wanted to be more closely connected to nature, so we bought 100 acres of undeveloped land 8 miles from downtown Nashville, TN.
    We have ambitions create a community farm that would involve the Vanlife/traveling community that often stops by to share travel stories and fellowship which generates a unique and friendly place. Our family includes Katie and I, Greg, our 3 year old and 10 month old children, and our dog, Bella. We speak fluent French, Spanish and English.

    We are currently creating mountain bike trails throughout the property for all levels. Including but not limited to flow trails, freeride, downhill and cross country. One trail is ridable and many more in the works.
    We are looking for people of all different levels of experience in mountain biking. The most important thing is a positive attitude and creativity. If you have some trail building experience that's a massive bonus too!

    Another project is to build a series of tree houses around our property that will be rented out. We found tree house kits online, and are prepared to order one as soon as someone is prepared to help! The work is pretty autonomous because there is a building kit with instructions, and I will be there to help as well, but ideally we are looking for someone who has experience in carpentry who is eager to learn and create!

    A long-term dream for this place is to create a farm with chickens, goats, produce, hops for home brewing, and grape vines. We have land that has been untouched by big agriculture hence the soil is very fertile and we have an excellent spot for a garden area!

    We love to spend time outdoors; whether it's taking walks around our property, which is abundant in paths and trails, or chilling around a bonfire in the evening. Our property is a great place to appreciate the Tennessee wildlife while having the accessibility to downtown Nashville at our doorstep.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are in our 30's and we like to party, have bonfires, share handiwork skills (metalwork, woodwork, cooking and preservation) and expand our personal traditions to visitors. French and American culture here.
    Being 8 miles from downtown, it would be very awesome for music lovers to get in and out to the farm to the lively Nashville scene.

  • Help


    We are looking to start on the construction of the tree houses, cleaning up, general help with maintenance on the property.
    We need help with building new mountain bike trails, test riding and basic maintenance on the existing ones.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    This is a dead end location, super private and in the backwoods. We have a camper van that is equipped with 2 beds and electricity.
    We have an outdoor kitchenette setup with electricity and water access, as well as an outdoor shower and composting toilet.
    The camper van is located behind a large shed uphill from our home, and there is an awesome space there for making bonfires and just hanging out. Our home kitchen is also available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very close to Beaman park, the farmers market, and downtown. We have a few bikes, a moped and old cars that could be borrowed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.2)

Cultural exchange: (4.2)

Communication: (4.4)

Host ref number: 324776626895