Join the relaxed atmosphere on our small farm in the beautiful Pacific northwest in Washington State, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have about 6 acres on our farm in Western Washington, USA. My Mother and I have lived here since 1991 and have turned this place into a little slice of heaven. We have 3 horses, 2 dogs and an outside cat. We put in a new house last year and love all the space and openness of our home. We maintain a vegetable garden along with a squash garden. We have 4 pastures that are divided up. We live in the woods of Weyerhaueser, so it is pretty peaceful. We love to share our beautiful area with others.

    I have neighbors who are pretty awesome. We do a lot of things with some of our neighbors, they are more like an extended family to us.

    My mother and I are both very crafty. We bead and quilt. I love photography and do take lots of pictures. I love to walk and hike different areas. We have a few musical instruments to share if you are musically inclined. We have an electric piano, banjo and I am learning the mandolin, bring your instrument along. We enjoy night time fires around our portable fire pit. We like to play cards and dominoes. We have Netflix, Amazon Prime and Dish TV. Our internet is very slow, but works.

    I also do a lot of canning and freezing of our garden produce. I sometimes make beef jerky in our dehydrators.

    We have a lot maintenance type work here to keep the farm looking nice. I have a few building projects planned in the future. One is a shed roof off the back side of my barn using the roofing material from our old home. We re-purpose as many things as possible here. After harvest this fall, I am planning on building raised garden beds. We also recycle. We would love to share what we have discovered to work easier for us. We always say make it so we can be lazy later. Trying to get things done right the first time makes it easier to maintain. I would like to learn other ways that maybe easier or better!

    We like couples to come, that way they can help each other and or do other tasks that need to be done. We also like individuals too!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We went to a small private college in Wisconsin. It was a diverse group of students from all over the world, Japan, Nigeria, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Saudi Arabia, India... It was a great way to meet others from around the world and learn some of their culture. I would love to learn other cultures and share what we do. I have a friend from India who prepared wonderful meals and shared her life experiences from her homeland. I loved it when we went out and she let me wear one of her sari's. In college we were invited to a Japanese Tea Ceremony. It was a very beautiful experience. We would love to share how we do things, how our culture can integrate with another. We have lots of local museums about our history in this area that are very interesting.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with gardening, fencing, small building projects, feeding, help around the house, weeding and mowing. We garden using organic practices. There is always projects listed that we check off when done. There is maintenance around the farm all the time. We hope to have 25 hours of work per week. We are pretty relaxed here, please ask for clarification or help when you need it. We do have a large assortment of tools and equipment. You will need to bring good gloves, work clothes and rain gear. It doesn't always rain here, but we get our fair share. Depending on the type of work we are doing, we have a tractor and quads for getting certain chores done. Maybe you can learn to drive a tractor or quad! Our water feature also needs up keep by keeping the weeds out of the rocks and streams. We have a lot of small flower gardens around our home that also need maintaining.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a large two man or small 1 man tent and bedding with many places for tents, we have a camper or you could bring your RV. We have a large living room for relaxing in, a big deck in the front yard to enjoy nature and quiet time. I have built a water feature for the birds and bees that I enjoy watching from the deck. We have a washer and dryer available, shower and bathroom in the house and the camper has it's own. We share the refrigerator and freezer if you want something special than what we have, we also have a small refrigerator in the camper or garage. We will provide the basic staples. We share cooking, dinner, clean up, household chores. (As we eat a brunch at an odd time, you are on your own to prepare your breakfast and lunch.) Everyone pitches in. We have a BBQ grill on the deck. We also have a pasture that we keep mowed, it has a creek that borders the back of the pasture. This pasture would make a beautiful camping spot if you would like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 40 miles from the Pacific Ocean, 32 miles from the Olympic Mountain Range, 2 hours from the Cascade Mountain range and about 1.5 hours to the Rain Forest. We live 50 west of Olympia, our state capitol. There are so many things to explore and do around where we live. We have our small town that is 8 miles away and a larger town that is 20 miles away. There are a lot of historical museums around that tell the history of this area. This was a huge logging area for many, many years. We have several "old growth stumps" still on our property! If you like hiking, fishing, camping, there is a lot of that in the area too. We can bring you to the bus station, or if we are going someplace and you would like to tag along, that would be fine too. On your off days, if you stay at the farm, we would ask that you help with the chore list. Our home is pretty peaceful and quiet. We do have neighbors who are great and would love for you to get to know them also. Sometimes we have a large get together and BBQ and play games. You would be very welcome to join us!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Another landing done by Aurelie and Remy! Volunteers from Belgium.
The camper has a comfortable full size bed, table, easy chair, big shower in bathroom, 3 burner stove, large refrigerator, pots and pans, etc. I had lived in this trailer for 6 years as a traveler. It was very comfortable.
In the Olympic Mountains in the Buckhorn Wilderness, hiking with my nephews. We spent 3 days up there.
Volunteers, Andrea and Mitch along with Barron at Spoon Falls in the Olympic National Forest.
Volunteers Andrea and Mitchel relaxing in the living room with us.
My Brother and Mother, and my cousins (who came to volunteer at my farm for three weeks) are going into the lava tubes on Mount St. Helens.
Ancient railroad trestle in the Olympic National Forest
One of the many waterfalls you will find in the Olympics nearby...
Some of the starts from the greenhouse ready for the garden.
Our lower pasture by the creek. It is like a giant park just down the hill from the rest of the farm. Great place if you want to camp!
McGee peaking out from the plants on the old front deck. This has now been remodeled.
Front view of the house after it was put in. We did a lot of landscaping and moving of plants.
Mom and I in the Olympics exploring. This is just one of thousands of the large trees in the area.
Our new home.
Host ref number: 319913791427