Help with our home in the forest and near the sea in East Sussex, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    52.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with 3 children aged 15, 13 and 10 and 3 dogs (A German Shepherd and 2 terriers) and a tortoise(!) living on 6 acres of beautiful flower meadow and woodland in a small hamlet in the middle of a forest with views of the South Downs and a 30 minute walk from the beach down the Cuckmere Valley. We have a swimming pool which you are welcome to use (but it is only heated in the summer months!). We are on the bus route to Eastbourne (20 mins) and Brighton (40 mins). We have lived abroad (in Holland, France and Malaysia and Africa) and are used to living with people from different countries and cultures. We have had volunteers living with us before when we lived in the Highlands of Scotland and they have become life long family friends. It would be good to have someone who can speak French, Spanish or Italian as we would love some practice with our languages. We would like a couple or at least two people at a time for up to 2 weeks. You will have your own comfortable double room each with a shared shower room and your own sitting room. We would welcome you to eat with us as a family in the mornings and evenings.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a small hamlet so it is quiet but a 10 minute walk over the hill to the main bus route where buses leave for Eastbourne (20 mins) and Brighton (40 mins) every 10 minutes. Brighton is a buzzing city with lots of opportunities to see live music and experience the joys of wandering in the world famous Lanes. Eastbourne has a fantastic art gallery (The Towner) as well as a multiplex cinema and theatres, a pier and beautiful beachfront. Lewes (20 mins) which is the county town of Sussex is a fantastic small town with shops and great cafes and restaurants. Hastings is 30 minutes on the train from Eastbourne.

    From the house you can walk to Exceat and down to the beach at the Cuckmere where you will see the famous seven sisters cliffs which are a popular visitor attraction for tourists from all over the world. The forest at the back of the house leads onto the Sussex Downs and you can walk for miles in open countryside. There are mountain biking tracks in the forest and we have bikes that you can use. We are keen walkers and can show you all the best walking routes in the area. Our house is on the South Downs Way which is a 100 mile walk between Eastbourne and Winchester along the South Downs which can be walked or cycled. Perhaps you have a go?

  • Help

    Help

    I need general help with day to day maintenance of the property including gardening, dog walking (in the forest at the back of the house) and property maintenance jobs. If you have experience of repointing patios and fixing fences that would be helpful. Ability to use a strimmer/ride on lawnmower/chainsaw would be also be helpful as there is always clearing work to do in our small woodland and hedges that need cutting.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own double bedrooms in a separate wing of our modern house with your own shower room and sitting room with tv. I love cooking and cook good homemade food everyday. Dahl and rice is my speciality! One of my children is vegetarian so we usually only eat meat once or twice a week as a family but there is always vegetarian food. We are not smokers - NO SMOKING in the house please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I drive to Eastbourne most days to take the kids to school and go to Brighton twice a week and would be happy to pick you up or drop you off to the station if I am going. There is a closer station (Seaford) which you can get to on the bus. The train is just over an hour to London Victoria and it is 50 minutes on the train to Gatwick airport. We have broadband and good mobile coverage.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 318187256479