Help to look after our daughter and speak English to her in Valladolid, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/08/2019

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 3: My husband Mariano, my 2 year old girl Noa and myself (Ada). We live in a 300,000 inhabitants city (Valladolid) in the center-west of Spain.

    I'm a 37 year-old Chemical Engineer who works as Strategy Director in a sugar company. I work 2-3 days from home, and the rest of the week from our head offices in Madrid. Mariano is an electrical engineer and works for a German company in Valladolid. Mariano works from 8:15 to 15:00, so that means he leaves our home at 7:50 and gets back at 15:30. When I stay home I work from 8:00 to 17:00 or 17:30, and when I go to Madrid I leave our place at 6:30 and get back at 18:45 (and some occasional days later than that).
    Noa is now attending nursery and next September she'll start school. She is very active and enjoys drawing and singing very much (and dancing!). She is very loving and likes kisses and cuddles. She still finds it difficult to get away from mummy. But I guess that’s normal. And she is small but with a strong character!
    We also have fishes and a couple of turtles
    One of our passions is to travel and meet new people and cultures. I’ve lived both in the UK and Denmark some years ago, and we’ve travelled to many places in Europe, Asia and America. But that’s getting a bit more difficult since Noa was born, and we’ve changed some of our previous exotic destinations by closer ones. We also love meeting with family and friends to go out for a walk/drink (that’s very Spanish!, and spending time doing different activities with Noa (going to the theatre, going for a walk to the park, seeing the ducks in a pond next to our home, playing games with her,…).
    We think the most important thing when raising children is to be loving and patient. For us is especially important to keep calm and firm when they try to cross a limit. We don’t like to be loud or shout when we get angry. It’s difficult sometimes, but being calm is much more effective (but don’t believe we are perfect! We sometimes shout too!!). We try not to put too many limits, but we are firm on the few ones we have. We love a pedagogic method called Montessori which is based on incentivizing children autonomy and self-control: Instead of doing something for them (which is fast and easy for parents) try to help the child learn how to do it himself/herself, and only help if they request it.
    At home we don’t have many rules, but we like a peaceful and relaxed environment, so we don’t like loud music/TV.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The city is very close to Madrid (1h by train) and very close to some of the most beautiful cities in Spain (Salamanca, Segovia, Leon, Avila). It also has a 1h flight connection to Barcelona. So it’s a perfect location to know the country. And it’s a very alive city with plenty of activities to enjoy (and plenty of bars with tapas to have a proper feel of Spanish outdoor life style ;-)

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to get some help with Noa and the house. We would need you to stay with Noa from 7:45 (when we leave the house), get her up, prepare her breakfast and take her to the nursery. Then you'd need to pick her up at 16 and spend a couple of hours doing some activity with her at the same time you speak English to her (drawing, going for a walk, swimming, …).
    We'd also you to help us with the house: tidying it up, going shopping and cleaning

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a 150 sqm flat close to the city center and close to restaurants, cinemas, bars, parks, supermarkets, the river. It’s a quiet neighborhood but with all the facilities you might need. And just 10 min walking from the center. The flat has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. You would have your own bedroom (around 15 sqm) and a bathroom with a bath tube shared with Noa. And you will be able to use the rest of the common parts of the house (kitchen, living room). We haven't bought the bedroom furniture yet, so it'll be all new for you and you can tell us what you need!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 314432762978