Help a family Living in Beautiful Corvallis Oregon, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 150 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    522

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an elementary school teacher with 3 kids in beautiful Corvallis, Oregon. I aspire to be a small scale farmer, wonderful father, and effective educator. I try and fill my home with art, music, good food, and good people. My 3 children are 5, 7 and 17. Jonah the 5 year old is in preschool part time and Amelia (7) is in 1st grade. They have also had the pleasure of having wonderful experiences with various workawayers who have shared our home. The oldest is currently a Junior in high school who loves video games and rap music. I also have a cat (Daniel) who helps us stay sane with his love. The children are with me half of the time and with their mother the other half.

    I live on the SW edge of Corvallis right on endless bike paths to the woods, to downtown, the Oregon State University Campus, and to our blossoming neighbor town Philomath. We are also 45 minutes to the coast and love taking folks out there for visits.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Visitors will get to experience a small town, with a community minded, socially conscious, family that loves to explore. I will seek to involve volunteers in our everyday life as much as they are up for. My experience so far is that the best learning happens drinking wine around the dinner table.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a lot of home projects and gardening I would like help with. I also hope to have new languages, foods, and cultures in our home.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own private room and bed. There is one shared bathroom in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This stay will require volunteers part time(10-25 hours / week). You will have a great deal of free time to explore local areas and I always like to take folks on short day trips when possible, to the coast, Portland, or any other areas of interest.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-8 hours a day, 3 days a week



Host ref number: 299523225729