General maintenance help required for little dog rescue in Southern Spain



Favourited 229 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    I work with Charities that want to rescue dogs. I rescue dogs myself, normally from the local pound, foster and also offer residence. I have been in Spain since 1999. and can't see myself living anywhere else
    I have recently moved house, and require a lot of help to get the inside of the property and kennels painted, help with getting all the rubbish away and getting the grounds in order.
    I live in a rural setting but, easy to walk into town, (Campillos) about 10 minutes
    Meals, you may have to cook your own as I don't do much cooking myself
    Some dogs live in the house so you will have to be OK with this
    And please I have enough dogs so it will be difficult to accommodate you if you have a dog of your own
    There are 3 train stations I can pick you up from which are fairly local, Campillos, Antequera-Santa Ana and Bobadilla.
    There is also a bus service to Campillos but this is rather limited
    Sorry but it is too far to pick up from Malaga
    I hope this is not too much of an inconvenience
    As the seasons change so do the work hours, in summer it is often above 40 degrees, so work starts early, around 7am,
    During Autumn and Winter it is still dark at that time so we start later, and it can be cold in the mornings and evenings
    You may find it beneficial to bring a pair of croc shoes with you as they are easily washed and dry in a minute
    One last thing. I smoke, and if I'm honest I smoke too many. Please don't apply if you have a problem with this.
    I have a certain way of doing things, but I am always open to suggestions and, fresh ideas, so please don't hold back
    And if there is anything at all that you're not happy with then please tell me. I can't fix anything if I don't know it needs fixing
    I am extreemly busy just now so please be patient if I don't reply the same day
    Thank you for reading my profile, and if the position appeals to you then please contact me.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Campillos is not a tourist trap, many visitors come here but, normally to visit relatives that live here.
    It's a lovely town and flat, so it's easy to walk anywhere.
    Some shops do shut though from 2-5 for siesta time
    It is surrounded by beautiful countryside and has the benefit of the glorious lakes close by.
    Be aware though that not all traditions are good, In the hunting community so many dogs are abandoned and killed, particularly the Galgo and Podenco, and this is why I and so may other organisations and charities, including Spanish are trying to ease the situation by rescuing and fostering
    Please try and look up the Galgo and Podenco before you come. If you don't already know about them it will open your eyes to the things tourists never see

  • Help


    Moving into this property is going to require a lot of work to get it right, and I simply cannot do it on my own with my commitments to the dogs taking up most of my time
    The house, grounds and kennels have basically not been looked after properly during the last couple of years, and it shows.
    Inside the house needs painting and there is still some general cleaning to be done. There is a small garden area attached to the back and side of the house that needs to be weeded and generally sorting, and some of the door/window frames need painting.
    The kennels.... I have done most of the hard work cleaning out the kennels, and have had some new ones built, but there is still a lot of painting to be done.
    Basically it's a hands on anywhere you can help
    There is also about 4,000sm of land and, some of the fencing needs to be repaired, removed or re designed
    I would love to have a day off now and again to visit my daughter, and this would involve an overnight stay
    And if you are happy enough to keep an eye on the dogs for me that would be brilliant.
    Internet connection is limited as I have to now use my phone as a hotspot, but you can connect to check emails etc

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, My Spanish is rubbish

  • Accommodation


    Chalet type house with 1 bedroom available for workaways which has bunk beds
    Definitely not the Ritz, but the beds are comfortable
    Shared bathroom with shower and bath, is next to the bedroom
    There is a pool but, it is not up and running yet, but there is a lovely municipal pool and sports complex in town

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Getting out and about is not a problem, the town is easily within walking distance, there is ample transport both locally and nationally by bus and rail. The lakes are not far away, and there are so many historic villages to explore locally, and for the more adventurous Madrid is easily reachable by train. Transport is limited at weekends, so maybe you would like to have a day off during the week. It's entirely up to you which days off you choose

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 292741568815