Help needed for my grandma in Cartavio, Peru

Country

Peru

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/10/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    192

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am looking for help (household and eldery care) for my grandmother in Cartavio (La Libertad, Peru) , she needs someone who stays at least 3 months, 5 days a week, 5 hours a day.
    I am Linda, her grandchild who lives in Germany. After highschool I travelled for 1 year to Australia, Asia and Peru, there I got to know workaway and worked in many projects. I like the cultural exchange and I think volunteering is the best way to get to know a country!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cartavio is a very small city/village (20.000 people), most of the people work in the sugar industry. Its very safe, even for women walking alone. (). Almost everybody knows each other, so you will get to know people very fast. My family likes to get to know people from around the world and will tell you a lot of places you can visit and show you their culture, their food etc.
    On the weekends there is always something happening: birthdays, dances on the street, religious celebrations, disco and so on...The market is very big and traditional. There are many groups in town where you can learn traditional dances or play football or volleyball. In the library you can go to read or learn handiwork. There are also some swimming pools and restaurants. Trujillo is only 1 hour away (you can take a bus, its very cheap). There are many old Temples around from the pre-inca time. The beach is only 20-30 minutes away. So I think you will have a great time here!!!

  • Help

    Help

    Hello dear workawayers,
    I am looking for help for my grandmother Dolores, for 3-6 months. She is 87 years old and could do everything herself but she gets tired and cant walk that long because of arthrosis. So she needs someone who would like to cook and clean together with her. She also needs someone who holds her arm when she walks in the morning to see her animals and feed them.
    The work would be 5 hours in the morning (8-13), Monday to Friday. It includes accompany my grandmother to feed her animals, then shopping on the market, make brakfast and lunch together with her, clean the house. In the afternoon her children are in the house to help her, so you have freetime.
    Its a very easy job, the volunteer should speak spanisch (at least basic spanish) because my grandmother doesnt speak another language. And you should be interested in older people, like to listen to them, have conversations with her and have a warm heart. It would be great if you could also supervise her a bit: she should drink enough water, eat enough, go for a walk and so on but there are also other people looking after her.
    My grandmother is a very funny and happy person. She has a lot of children but unfortunately they dont have enough time to help her with her everyday routine. She loves to travel and has been a lot of times in Europe to visit her children and grandchildren who live there (like me). She was born in a small town in the Andes and also travels there a lot to see her house and her family.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have an own room with wifi. The house has three floors. On the first floor there is the kitchen and the living room (and an office of my uncle). On the second floor you find your room, grandmother Dolores´ room, the room of an uncle, a living room, a bathroom and a balcony. On the third floor there is living an uncle with his family (wife and two children, 9 and 24 years old).
    We have another house 30 minutes away (you can take a bus) at the beach! On the weekends my family often goes there to eat and enjoy the breeze of the sea.
    My grandmother likes to travel, every now and then she goes to her house in the Andes (between Cajamarca and Huamachuco) or she goes to visit her son in Pucallpa (Rainforest), there is the possibilty to go with her if you like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Buses to Trujillo and Charco (Beach, 20 min from Cartavio)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

visitors and my grandmother in front of the house at the beach
the birthdayparty of my grandmother, in this foto you see her and 6 of her children
This is the beach, its 15 minutes away by bus! :-)
Thats the market of Cartavio
My grandmother serving the food
Thats the front of the beach house
Thats my grandmother with her animals
Host ref number: 291638845686