We need help with renovation on our family house near Mayenne in France



Favourited 5 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    IWe need help with renovation work on our family house in France. It is located in the Pay de loire region of France, it has limited access to water internet and electricity so don't expect much in the way of that. The house is located in a small farming area with only a few neighbours. The only way to reach to house is by a very long walk or we can pick you up via car from the nearest village, Couterne. To get here you must go to alencon then get the bus from there to coutern this but only runs on weekdays so you'll have to plan you visit for that.

    There is plenty of lovely french countryside to explore on days off and after work hours are done. The land has 2 acres of space which needs work to keep back the weeds that have grown over the time since we left. The is a room for the volunteers the house is heated by fires and has no other way of heating.

    If you can hack a bit of off the grid living and love the countryside this is the place for you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The best part of working with us is that we make work fun. You will learn lots of new things about house renovation. If you're wanting to improve your french or English i speak both languages so spending time here will help you out.

  • Help


    Any help is useful, we need people to clear land and maintain the garden, people with an understanding of electrics would be helpful for wiring up the new solar power system, people with wood working skills would be great for helping construct new things in and for the house, general work such as painting, tidying, cleaning.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation


    The volunteers will all be in one room which will have a mattress and plenty of sleeping bags. Accommodation will be nothing luxury but it will be warm and relatively comfortable.

    Food will be cooked and eaten by us all together, me and my sister are vegetarian so there will be lots of vegetarian cooking but if you can't live without meat just put a request in for our weekly shopping trip and you wish shall be our command. Most of our cooking up to now has been on the gas stove but we would like to get the old wood burner cooker back up and running so we can have a more renewable way of cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The best way to get to us is by train to Laval then getting a bus to Mayenne, from there we will come and collect you from the bus station. So we dont have to spend all of our time driving around picking people up and dropping them back off pick ups will be every Saturday at 12. Please try and be here on time as to not inconvenience us :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 279128115974