Visit beautiful North West Tasmania, Australia for the summer months and help us out.

Country

Australia

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English and Irish couple in our late 50s, living in a beautiful part of rural Tasmania ( yes we are part of Australia :)
    Our family consists of us and our 2 adopted greyhounds, all enjoying retirement in this stunning location; close to nature, mountains and sea. Our property is 2.5 acres and surrounded by trees and bushland. 1 hour from iconic Cradle Mountain and 10 minutes to our closest beach, where our dogs adore racing along the sand and into the water at very high speed, (the only racing they do nowadays.) Our home has landscaped gardens with lots of plants, bushes and trees that require ongoing maintenance and in the summer the vegetable garden is in full production.
    It is a quiet, relaxed part of the world, but we are only 20 mins from the closest large town and 5 minutes from the little town of Forth.
    Interested?

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we are only recent climate change/ tree change refugees ourselves, from the mainland, (3 years,) we have immersed ourselves into the community, joining various groups, volunteer roles and taking up challenges of mountain climbing and hiking, so keep fit and diverse activities would be on the agenda. And if you think of the Western world of years gone by, Tasmania certainly offers that experience. It is quite eclectic with its many festivals and the North West is a haven for the arty type, with painters and many other artists making their homes here; however, most of us do speak quite good English.

  • Help

    Help

    We really just want help at certain times of the year, with various parts of the garden needing maintenance, maybe some fencing and possible dead tree and branch felling; we have all the equipment needed. Also I've recently enrolled at a womens' shed, where a couple of brave guys from mens' shed, (who have all the gear ever needed for woodworking,) have opened the doors to the ladies and are showing us how to make various things in wood, so naturally I'm now looking at the big projects, ie; a rose arbour!! If you have any woodworking expertise, that could come in handy but not essential, as most of our skills have been self taught as we go.
    However, you WOULD need to love dogs, as they would most definitely be wishing to love you; the boy in particular likes to attempt to get as much petting as possible, any time of the day or evening, no matter what else you may be doing. We also walk them outside the property each day, which can be a extremely funny experience.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 2 storey home; all of the upstairs is our space and downstairs there are 3 bedrooms, with 2 being used as work and storage areas. The other room is the spare, with a queen sized bed, built in wardrobe and during the colder weather there is an electric blanket and an oil heater. There is also a main bathroom, which would be used only by the guests, a separate toilet, the main living area and kitchen. We are quite happy to offer meals in exchange for work; if you want to cook for yourself that is also fine.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The North West offers many beautiful tourist attractions: Cradle Mountain being the most well renowned. But we also boast The Tarkine - an area of outstanding natural beauty - with majestic old growth trees, some reaching 300ft tall. Beautiful old towns, with original buildings from the 19th century and many stunning beaches to enjoy. Foodies will be delighted, as local produce is in abundance, with our 'chocolate soil' providing many types of fresh fruit and vegetables. Additionally, we have a thriving salmon farming industry here.

    As there is no local transport, we would be happy to take visitors out, or if you prefer your own space, car hire would need to be considered. We are very involved with the community and are away from home usually 2-3 days a week, either volunteering or participating in various activities, so you would have plenty of time to do your own thing. We are fairly quiet at home, although we do enjoy listening to music or watching TV. Plus we are now trying to climb one of the many mountains around us, or do a fairly strenuous walk for a few hours once a fortnight.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 275335936896