Help wanted renovating a static caravan. Herefordshire/Welsh border, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 255 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired couple and have a smallholding on the outskirts of a small market town in Herefordshire, close to the Welsh border.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would be largely working on your own and we will observe social distancing at all times. However, your self contained accommodation would allow you to write, read, play music etc in peace! The small cabin has wifi and hopefully we will be able to extend it to the caravan as part of the project.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment we are looking for somebody with good DIY skills who would be able to make our static caravan habitable again. This would include repairing the floor, cleaning, painting, and laying carpet. Plumbing, electrical and sewing skills would all be useful. This is the main project and good DIY skills are essential, but there could be tasks for a second person helping with the garden and vegetable growing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation initially would be in our small cabin which is connected to the mains electricity and has wifi. It has a single bed with a pull-out bed under. You would also have sole use of a nearby portacabin with shower, toilet and cooking facilities. The plan would be for you to move into the static caravan as soon as it was practicable to live in it while carrying out the work. It has 2 bedrooms, one with a double bed and one with 2 small single beds.

    Because of the pandemic we are not currently providing meals for helpers but rather paying £120 (per person for 25 hours help) a week, to self cater. This means that being here could be rather lonely and you need to be happy in your own company.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a good area for hiking and off road cycling. The small town (with several pubs, supermarket etc) is in walking distance, and there is a bus service to Hereford which is about 20 miles away. Hay-on-Wye is about 12 miles away but not accessible by public transport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Because of our totally free range hens, our own dogs, and neighbouring sheep we could only consider very well behaved dogs guaranteed not to chase anything.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week













Host ref number: 27434857274c