Help with an eco building project, planting native trees and creating a wild garden in ancient woodland near Tarbert, Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 235 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Thirty years ago, I built two large sheds in mature ancient mixed woodland, on the sea, a mile north of Tarbert village on Loch Fyne. Candles, rainwater, and wood provided the basics. Over the years, I have planted thousands of trees in open spaces, left by the areas used for livestock. Five years ago, as the huts composted into the hillside, I decided to come and live here full time and replace / repair, as well as continuing to care for the extensive woodland.

    I have a flock of hilarious bantam hens that hang out in the woodland by day and roost high in a tree house at night. My two cats come on long walks. After years of candles, generators and water from the roof - the hut now has hot and cold water, pumped up from the bottom of the hill and electricity. But there's a long way to go - a green house to invent, another hut to rebuild - eventually. I have a sawmill, digger and dumper and all the tools you could dream of help, but extra pairs of hands managing the woodland, planting trees, creating a wild garden, log collection and hut renovation would be invaluable.

    To this end, I've just bought a neat two-man caravan. Not sure what will work best, probably eat lunch together and cook our own dinners (I'll buy all the food). I bake and cook everything from scratch. Sometimes eat our cockerels and venison, but mostly vegetarian. I guess we'll discuss, and find out what suits.

    Anyone eligible for the covid vaccine, must have taken up the offer. Thanks.

    We are not running a business here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My woodland is extraordinary. Tree and land management, woodwork etc

    I have a quad bike and flailer which I use to maintain pathways through the newly planted areas of woodland . The ancient woodland is a perfect balance of wild flowers beneath a canopy of oak etc. It's a magical place, but doing everything myself is hard and slow!

  • Help

    Help

    Native tree planting and protecting. Tree care. Collecting seedling. Gathering fallen wood from the woodland. Helping with basic DIY. Using a chainsaw, driving a quad would be useful. We are not running a business here.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Clean, neat 2 man caravan with views through the woodland to the sea. We can chat about food... probably share our lunch, maybe the odd evening meal too, but the caravan has full sized cooker, so probably provide veg, etc for self catering. Workaways need to enjoy being independent. I bake sourdough bread or yeasted bread every day, do a power yoga hour every third day (welcome to join in). We have eggs from the hens etc

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Kintyre is a fabulous area for cycling, walking, exploring. Tarbert, a fishing village, is just a mile away. We have a sailing dingy and rubber dingy and lobster/ crab pots.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good wifi. We almost always stream or download. The caravan has wifi, chromecast for streaming and a good mobile signal.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any size van should be fine here.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Would need to discuss, but in principal, yes, well behaved hen/cat friendly pets would be welcome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 271342379295