Help us look after our ducks, cows and chooks on our small regenerative family farm in Tassie, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We're Bec and Paul and we live on 50 acres in Birralee, 30 mins west of Launceston.
    We're just getting up and running having moved to the farm in mid 2019. Currently we have a house cow who we milk by hand twice a day, some cows and ducks, and are putting a lot of time into our veg garden which is abundant with fresh veg.
    We're using regenerative farming practices so everyone moves to fresh pasture every few days. We'd love your help with our farm in March.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're learning about this farming thing too - but we are happy to share any knowledge we have :-)
    We love food, so happy to cook up a storm in the kitchen. For the time you are with us, you're part of the family.

  • Help

    Help

    We'd love to find either a solo traveller or a couple of people who would like to help us out in March 2020 for a few weeks. One of those weeks will be whilst we're overseas for a family wedding but the day to day work is only 4 hours max, so plenty of time to explore beautiful Tassie :-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have a room in our home, with private bathroom. The room has a queen size bed, wardrobe and views of our orchard. We'll be covering all food expenses.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're a laid back couple, like to have a laugh and don't take anything too seriously. We work hard but not too hard! We love food and wine - we are very much meat eaters. We keep a clean home and care very much for all our animals and expect any one who is coming to stay with us to do the same. Oh - no smokers sorry.
    You'll need a drivers license and a good driving record, as you may need to go off farm. We're 20 mins from the Tamar Valley wineries, 40 mins from Greens Beach and 2.5 hours from Cradle Mountain, Binnalong Bay, Hobart - a really central location. You are most welcome to borrow our car and go exploring.
    We also have a cat and two dogs, but when we're away for the one week they'll be going to a kennel.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 267796522842