Join our family sharing recipes and help with maintaining our restaurant on Tioman Island, Malaysia

Country

Malaysia

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone,

    We are a family of 3 people. Mr. Wong, Ana, and baby boy. We love to meet new people and learn a lot of new things. It is not always the 3 of us. We take care of are family so sometimes my mother, father and brother are with us.

    We have a restaurant at tioman island. Tioman island is a beautiful tropical island. You have jungle, Beach and the sea with beautiful coral and many fish. The perfect place for snorkeling and diving. Did you know tioman is the cheapest place to get your diving licence? On the island are a lot of animals: cats, monkey's, lizard's small and big and many more animals. You can go snorkeling, I can also take you in the jungle if you would like that.

    People can eat at the restaurant for lunch and dinner. Mr. Wong is the chef and me, Ana helping him at the kitchen and occasionally act as chef when Wong is out of town. I order the food and bring the food to people. 2 other people work at the restaurant. One women she is cleaning the dishes and a boy, he is helping the chef in the kitchen.

    We are really looking forward to have people stay with us. We really like to learn you how to cook Chinese and Malaysian and we like to learn new recipes from you. So my family can enjoy new food.

    We can learn you the Malaysia language and Mr Wong can also teach you Chinese if you would like that. We speak English but we really want to practice it so we can speak better English.

    We provide you with delicious restaurant food and you can sleep at the restaurant.

    We are looking forward to meet you.

    Kindly regards,

    Mr Wong and Ana

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will stay in Genting. This is a very local fishing village where many people know each other. You get the chance to learn about the local life here in Genting.
    You learn about the Malaysia an Chinese cooking and learn the language if you like. I can show you the village and sometimes take you to JB or Mersing but that depense on the time you are here. We just really like the exchange of knowledge, your cooking and our cooking , our language and yours, your ideas of a friendly restaurant and all the ideas we already have. We really look forward to meet you!

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in fixing up the restaurant, help make water flow again. But if you are at the restaurant we can see what other thing need to be done - just all general maintenance a little bit of fine tuning, just making the restaurant look friendly and welcoming. Your ideas are more than welcome! You can cook the local diches with us for my family and if you like you can cook your country's recipient for my family

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Malay and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You sleep at the restaurant, we also sleep there, but you will have your own separate room. You have a matras and we have ventilation for you. Also a clamboe.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you go to mersing in Malaysia you can take the ferry to tioman island. We are in the village genting.

    We have no wifi but you can buy a simcard ad the airport of in a city for example. Buy hotlink! This one will work at tioman not expensive. You can also buy the simcard at tioman island.

    Bring cash because in Genting there is no ATM.

    In your free time you can do many things, go snorkeling, trekking, make art, explore the village, chilling on the beach etc. Also you can book excursions at the local hotels if you like, but off course we appreciate it if that is not too much and not when we need your help. But with good and nice communication we can arrange a lot and have many fun!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 266419617292