Come and stay in a beautiful thatched cottage with roses and a very English feel in Blandford Forum. UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a rural area between Shaftesbury and Blandford in Dorset with 3 dogs, 2 horses and 2 children. My husband has his own business in thermal imagery. I am an author, and may or may not be working on a book when you are here. We have 15 acres and a lot of work to do on the house and land. So we would really appreciate help. The house is thatched and dates from the 16th century. It is traditional and cosy with a great outdoor space for the summer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful thatched cottage with roses and a very English feel. It is quite remote, but we are happy to drive you where you would like to go. The animals are friendly and love company, so please only come if you love animals! There are pretty villages in the area and a train station 15 minutes away which will take you to Bath, Salisbury and other towns. There are some beautiful sites, like Hambledon Hill which is walking distance, and Gold Hill in Shaftesbury, which we love visiting, even after living here for 13 years. Stone Henge is about 40 minutes away. It is a place to absorb the countryside and the peace. A visit to Bath is essential I think, as it is a beautiful City.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a few jobs to do in the house and the garden. The main job in May and June is pulling ragwort in the fields as well as the garden. I will provide all appropriate materials to help with this. It is not a fun job but is satisfying when it is done! It is a beautiful place, especially when the sun shines. You can jump in the pool and use the tennis court whenever you like outside of doing the jobs : ). We also have some bicycles which you can use. We have had 3 workaways who have been so helpful and two of them are still in touch with us and come back to visit. So I hope you would have a good time and we will certainly take you to the beach and to see sites during your stay.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the top of the house is our beamed spare room. There is a very comfortable King Size bed and we can put mattresses there also, if necessary. You have your own bathroom and your own floor.

    If there are more of you, there is the possibility of use of one of the children's bedrooms which has a bunk bed in and a bathroom opposite it.

    We would love you to eat with us as a family. If you are here in July or August we may have trips to the beach which is an hour away. I will provide food at all times

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest train stations are Gillingham or Tisbury. You can go to Bath, Salisbury (about 40 minutes or so by train). Also many pretty villages in the area. We have a pool and tennis court as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Us at Harry's Rock, Studland Bay, which is an hour away.
Us a year ago, taken in Iceland, so just so you see who we are ...
House from garden
The pool - tennis court too so plenty to entertain you when hours are done!
The spare room at the top of the house with lovely views and beams. The most comfortable King size bed in the house. We can provide mattresses and there is plenty of space. You could also use one of the children's rooms if there are two of you and your would prefer not to sleep in the same room, as they can sleep together, if you prefer.
Your own bathroom on your own floor with your room, at the top of the house.
Zamira the 2 year old rescue Greek Shepherd. Gentle as a sparrow.
Riding nearby on my old horse, Chip the border collie who was 1 in March, in the distance
Lettie the blind 13 year old labrador
Me (Vicky) in the garden last summer. : )
The house from the road (quiet road in rural area). Taken in the morning not the best pic!
Milly and Avalon in the field next to the garden which needs to have ragwort pulled. They are both quite old, and very friendly. There is a shepherds hut at the bottom of the field next to a stream. You can sleep there and camp now and then if you like.



Host ref number: 265241712992