Outdoor and DIY help in Wales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/07/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    . I'm a retired teacher, originally P.E. and later, Special Needs specializing in behaviour management. My husband is an expert in Water Quality as he worked as a water scientist for many years We have reccently moved to Wales from the South of England. We now have a large house situated on an old slate mine. We live in the slate mine owners house we have 20 acres of woodland and a stretch of river with fishing rights. The scenery and tranquility are wonderful.
    We love gardening. Our garden is terraced with a small orchard that my husband planted last spring.
    We have a son (33) who lives in Trinidad. Alos twin daughters (31). One lives in London, the other in Qatar.
    We have a jack russell dog and 2 cats

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Pembrokeshure is beautiful with spectacular walking and beaches.
    We have travelled all over the world and appreciate cultural conversations
    My husband is excellent at DIY and will be happy to teach and guide on landscaping/gardening.
    There is a steiner school and the centre for alternative energy is nearby.
    The environement is very inspirational for creative people - painting, writing.

  • Help

    Help

    Clearing the river bank - clearing brambles and trees
    Making paths- levelling soil, laying wood and spreading chippings
    Landscaping- clearing moss and ivy from rocks, digging our bamboo roots
    Hauling and chopping wood- carrying laurel trunks from the bottom of the garden up to near the house to be sawn
    Decorating /plumbing- painting, wall papering, carpentry (replacing skirting boards, making shelves. Insulating the attic.)

    i have a long, long list. You can choose what suits you.😊

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bedroom with wash basin. Separate bathroom.
    Brakfast/supper. Snack at lunch time
    There are 2 sitting rooms so we can have our own space

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Pembrokeshire coastal path is less than half an hour away. There are many Youth Hostels to stay in.
    Cardiff is 2 hours away- we travel there for all rugby internationals. Other iconic places to visit are Skomer island,
    St. Davids/Castles/golf courses/folk music
    Transport is limited. There is a railway station 5 miles away +a bus service once a day. Ideally the volunteer would be advised to have their own vehicle. We would, of couse, be happy to include the volunteer on any of our trips. We like to visit the local beaches which have spectacular geological features
    We travel to S. Of England occasionally to visit our daughter
    We appreciate people who show initiatve, strength and love sport........

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 261953589678