Help out in our permaculture project in a beautiful village in Tuscany, Montecatini Val di Cecina, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/06/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married Italian couple in our 40's, myself Luca, my wife Emilia and our three kids Francesco, Giovanni and Pietro who are respectively 11,12,13 years old.
    We live in a beautiful village, Montecatini Val di Cecina, built right on top of what is thought to be an extinct volcano. We run a country house business in the medieval tower known as Torre dei Belforti, a unique 14th century country house that dominates Montecatini Val di Cecina, in the heart of Tuscany. The village itself is fairly small but it's got a very nice square surrounded by small businesses like restaurants, bars and small shops. Alongside our country house business, we are also doing some small scale agriculture, seeding and planting our vegetable gardens, but mainly we are working on creating a very diverse ecosystem by digging small ponds, planting flowers and trees etc. We are very much into regenerating land and using chemical free methods to improve our soil. So if you are passionate or curious about this sort of stuff, and you are looking for a quiet and relaxed time away from noisy and busy towns, Torre dei Belforti is the right place for you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    We are now looking preferably for a female volunteer that must be reasonably fit because of the sometimes physical nature of the jobs required in the garden.
    Volunteers will be working alongside our longterm volunteer and friend Antonio, a 38 years old permaculturalist from northern Italy. They are expected to give us a hand with gardening, planting, seeding, building small ponds and so on.
    We are trying to establish a varied ecosystem following permaculture principles and practices. So this is a great opportunity if you want to learn about gardening and about permaculture. There will be also some house work to be carried out like helping in the kitchen, some cleaning and general maintenance of the property. Good honest 4 to 5 hours of work 5 days a week are expected from volunteers, with 2 days off per week. Working days will have to adjust to weather conditions. We will try to be as accommodating as possible to suit your time off needs.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, Spanish, English, Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will be staying at a separate house with all comforts: bathrooms with hot water, heating, kitchen, own bedroom, wifi internet etc...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers can enjoy lots of wildlife here, there are nature walks, small lakes for black bass and carp fishing, mushroom picking and all the activities that nature provides.
    There are also some interesting places for tourism such as Volterra, an old Etruscan town, just 15 km away, the coastal town of Cecina 35 km, Pisa with its iconic leaning tower or Florence, both located 100 km away approx.
    Public transport is not the best but there are few buses that take you to the above mentioned places or else we may be able to arrange a lift for you on our regular trips out of town.

    We expect volunteers to be indipendent and proactive as much as possible and we always encourage assertiveness in communication in order to have a good workaway experience for both parties.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 251656949215