Experience cultural and language exchange in our hostel in Andina, Colombia

Country

Colombia

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey friends, I'm Oscar from Bogota and I am happy to have the opportunity to be part of this community. After be a host in Couch surfing I decided to start a hostel. this has been an excellent experience and it made me use and develop many skills that I have gotten during my time at the university and working with companies. I already have a volunteer, we got in touch trough Couch surfing, which was a luck, not only because he is a great person but because Couch surfing is for travelers that are in the place for some days. He has more that 3 months in my place but his second travel licence is going to end during November and he is going to be back in France. So, during this month I need to find another great person to be part of my project and more that that, is that we can get to achieve our individual goals.

    The hostel is a four room place plus a room for the volunteer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The person who wants to be part of this project is going to be immerse in the Colombian culture, plus the interaction with another travelers who arrive in the hostel. You can learn how to manage a hostel, Spanish language, Colombian culture and get international connections.
    I'm a Couchsurfing host, so I am part of many events in which you can be involved.

  • Help

    Help

    The work consist on maintain the place clean and receive the guests. This is a four room place that is attended by me with one or two volunteers, there are not other paid staff more than me and my parents. The cleaning work can be done in 2 hours and this is to do the six beds, clean the bathroom, vacuum the floor, put bed sheets in the washing machine, clean the kitchen, put garbage in the chute. The other part of the work is to do check in with guests, This activity takes another 3 hours and consist on register the guest in the form, show the room, introduce installations to guest, receive the money payed by guests, stay in contact with guests virtually and through cellphone.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a shared room to stay during the time you are out of the hostel activities and there is a room inside the hostel. The workawayer is going to share the room with other volunteers and sometimes with owner in a 3 beds room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a place 5 minutes away from Bogota Airport so, you can go wherever place in Bogota and also in the areas surrounded. Bogota is a city full of activities and as I mentioned, I am host of some events in which you can participate. Transportation is very easy to wherever place you want to go.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days a week.


Host ref number: 248326257179